FOODlog #152: Pork Burger @ Uncle Don's

0 10
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

After picking up my son from school the other day, we went for lunch at a nearby shopping center at a restaurant named Uncle Don's. They have some branches around Kuala Lumpur and Klang Valley and are expanding at a steady pace. They serve Western food and also some Filipino dishes such as like sisig.

Whenever I go to Uncle Don's I will order the same thing which is their 'Pork Burger'. It is one of their better items on the menu and as a burger lover and eaten lots of burgers, their pork burger is a burger I would highly recommend. It comes with lettuce, tomato, pineapple, coleslaw and their pork patty which has a really nice charred flavor, moist and taste absolutely delicious. The burger also comes with fries and they were cooked well too.

Pork Burger with Seasoned Fries

It's also my first time trying their homemade chili sauce and ketchup that they have table side. They both tasted unique and goes great with the fries.

My wife ordered 'Chicken Carbonara'. She said that the chicken was good but the spaghetti wasn't really great. It's a very Malaysian style Carbonara which is noodles swimming in some sort of cream sauce which isn't good either.

Chicken "Carbonara"

For my kids, we got them the grilled chicken chop that comes with a side of fries as well. The boneless chicken thigh was cooked really well although in terms of flavor it doesn't taste very nice. It looked very good but didn't taste as good as it looked. Perhaps it's just personal preference and the seasonings they used for the chicken isn't something I enjoyed. The kids ate and finished it though so I guess it's just me. The mushroom gravy that came with it was extremely watery and tasteless. If you need a sauce to dip with, get their homemade chili sauce or ketchup that they have tableside.

Grilled Chicken Chop with Fries

Overall in terms of taste and the price point, a 2.5/5. The place has a nice ambiance and is comfortable. Menu wise, they don't have any rice dishes that is non spicy. So if you are wanting non spicy rice dishes, what we did was order the chicken chop with a side of white rice.

I do however recommend highly the pork burger which is really very satisfying and never disappointed whenever I've had the pork burger there. So if you ever want to try Uncle Don's out, I recommend their pork burger.

1
$ 0.84
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments