FOODlog #139: Steamed Pork Belly and Stir Fried Broccoli

0 9
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Cooked lunch for my family last week. My Mum went out with my aunt and she mentioned that she'll be buying back dinner so I made a simple lunch which was enough just for our lunch. Much easier cooking just for 1 meal with lesser prep which saves a lot of time.

I also picked easy to cook stuff which were pork belly and pork tenderloin sliced thinly and steamed with salt and white pepper. I simply lined it in a metal tray and seasoned it with slat and white pepper then into the wok on a steamer rack for about 15 minutes or so.

Steamed Pork Belly & Tenderloin

For our vegetables, I cooked a head of broccoli. I cut it into smaller florets and then stir fried it in a pan with some oil and slices of fresh garlic. When the garlic is fragrant I add in the broccoli and seasoned it with salt then a little water goes in together with some chicken stock and I cover the pan letting it simmer for about 4-5 minutes.

Stir Fried Broccoli with Garlic

I also steamed some white rice which we ate with these 2 dishes. For myself I added some 'Lao Gan Ma' chili sauce which is a brand of chili sauce from China. It's a super popular chili sauce and the flavor I had was fermented soy beans with chili. Slightly spicy from the chili which gives things a nice kick and savory salty umami flavors from the fermented soy beans. Super delicious especially with the pork belly slices and rice.

Lao Gan Ma Chili Sauce

Super simple, no hassle lunch but maximum flavor and satisfaction.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments