FOODlog #138: Oven Baked Chicken Breast with Carrots & Potatoes

0 7
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Last week I cooked lunch for my family and my Mum. I bought some chicken breast a couple of weeks back and cooked them last week. I didn't have more ingredients that I wished I had and used whatever I had in hand in the pantry and fridge to make a full meal which turned out tasting really wonderful.

For the chicken breast, I marinated them liberally with smoked paprika, salt, and white pepper. I pan seared them with some oil on both sides for about 1-2 minutes on high heat until they turn a nice color. I then lowered the heat and then basted the chicken with butter for another 1 minute on each side.

Searing in a pan
Basting with Butter and Garlic

Next I removed the chicken from the pan and also set aside the melted butter. I moved the chicken onto a baking tray to go in the oven along with my vegetables. Let it bake in the oven for about 10 minutes at 200-220 degrees Celsius and they are ready to eat. The timing would differ depending on the size of the chicken and the ones I had were pretty large so about 10-12 minutes is a good time frame.

For the vegetables, I used carrots, onions, and potatoes. Since it was also my wife's birthday recently, I spent a little more time making the vegetables a little more cute looking by trimming the edges after I've cut them into chunks.

After baking tin the oven, the chicken was perfectly cooked, juicy and tender. Could've been even more moist if maybe I cooked it for 1 minute less but I was very pleased with the results. The vegetables were still a little undercooked so I got them back into the pan along with the butter that was used for basting the chicken earlier and sauteed them until golden brown.

Perfectly cooked chicken breast
Buttered Carrots & Potatoes

The carrots were so flavorful and potatoes were soft, crusty, and buttery. Super delicious simply seasoned with salt and cooked with butter. Could've add sugar or brown sugar or honey for the carrots which didn't come to mind when I was cooking. That'll make your vegetables extra delicious.

Oven Baked Chicken Breast with Pan Seared Butter Carrots & Potatoes

Oven Baked Chicken Breast with Carrots & PotatoesSuper delicious meal that's really simple to make apart from the trimming of the vegetables part :D

1
$ 0.81
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments