FOODlog #136: Yi Mee & Roasted Pork Belly (Siew Yuk)

0 7
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Last Saturday my Mum went to the market to get some food supplies. She bought back lunch for me which were Yi Mee and Siew Yok (roasted pork belly).

I don't usually eat Yi Mee if I was the one buying the food but every now and then my Mum buys me Yi Mee which I actually do really like. It's a noodle dish that's made with egg noodles sort of having the texture like Japanese Soba noodles but thicker than Soba noodles. It had brownish yellowish color and is drenched with an egg drop soup sort of gravy. It also comes with some pork slices, wood ear mushrooms, and some greens.

Yi Mee before pouring in the gravy

The gravy is thick and savory and compliments the noodles perfectly. It comes with 2 dipping sauces - a chili sauce, and a black vinegar dipping sauce. It gives a little extra kick of sourness or spiciness which compliments the noodles and egg gravy perfectly.

Yi Mee with Egg Gravy
Spicy Chili Sauce and Black Vinegar Dipping Sauce

Another dish she got for us to share was Siew Yok. Siew Yok is roasted pork belly that can be commonly found at many Chinese stalls here in Kuala Lumpur. It's super delicious and if we have leftovers, which we normally do, my Mum will use it to stir fry it with some vegetables the next day which is super delicious!

Siew Yuk (Roasted Pork Belly)

Simple takeaway meals but super delicious and satisfying to eat.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments