FOODlog #128: Chinese Mix Rice Stall

0 11
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

When my Mum goes to the market to buy our food supply for the week, she would often buy back lunch from this mix rice stall. It's my favorite mix rice stall as their food taste really good compared to others around the area. They have around 30-40 dishes in the stall and I've never eaten anything I didn't like so far.

My mum bought back braised pork and hard-boiled eggs in soy sauce. It's a very popular dish that can be found at almost any mix rice stall and this one is as good as any out there. The dish has a good balance of lean meat and fat and the eggs are cooked well. The gravy is flavorful and really good eaten with rice.

Braised Pork and Hard-Boiled Eggs

She also bought 2 vegetable dishes. 1 was ladies fingers stir fried with chili and the other was stir fried French beans. These are two of my favorite vegetable dishes that is my go-to picks whenever I eat at a mix rice stall whether it's a Chinese mix rice stall or Malay mix rice stall or Mamak Nasi Kandar. It was super flavorful and my favorite dishes at this stall are their vegetables coz they cook them really well.

Stir Fried French Beans and Stir Fried Ladies Fingers

Another favorite dish that this particular stall cooks is their stuffed tofu with mince pork. The tofu is soft and smooth and the mince pork pairs so well with it as it's steamed with soy sauce. Very delicate dish and yet at the same time packed full of flavor.

It's such a blessing to be able to eat Chinese food like this at almost any part of town you're in. Super love Malaysian food culture!

1
$ 1.13
$ 1.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments