FOODlog #124: Korean Beef Bulgogi

0 12
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Cooked lunch the other day for my family some Korean Beef Bulgogi. My wife bought some beef cuts that we don't know what cuts were they but they were going super cheap. Turns out when I defrosted the meat and was prepping that it was leftover trimming of the better cuts of meat. It didn't have a lot of meat but it was still good to eat and I guess suits the price ratio to quality of beef.

I've made bulgogi quite a few times and this time I tried to make it in the pressure cooker. First I blend up an onion and an apple with my hand blender. Usually the recipe calls for Korean pear but apple is an alternative and it will taste pretty good as a substitute.

Onions and Apple blended

I then add it to the beef as well as soy sauce, oyster sauce, brown sugar, some salt, sesame oil, and finely minced garlic. Mix all these together and leave it to marinade overnight for 10-12 hours at least.

Marinade ingredients

On the day of cooking, I prep up some vegetables to go along with my bulgogi. I slice up onions, carrots, and I had leek in the fridge so I used that. You can also use a variation of bell peppers, mushrooms, or spring onions.

Onions, carrots, and leek

I cooked the beef in the pressure cooker with some water for 30 minutes then add in my vegetables so they don't overcook. Unfortunately I left the vegetables in the pressure cooker too long as well so I think just a couple of minutes in the pressure cooker will do for the vegetables.

Beef Bulgogi with Leek

The dish turned out alright and according to my wife it was delicious. We ate this with white steamed rice which is the perfect combination for a beef bulgogi stew.

Beef Bulgogi with steamed white rice

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments