FOODlog #123: Spaghetti Bolognese

0 11
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Cooked for my family some spaghetti bolognese the other day. It's a fairly easy dish to prepare and all you need is good quality ingredients for it to taste delicious.

Spaghetti Bolognese

I didn't have any beef so for this recipe I only used minced pork. I've always wondered why my bolognese sauce is on the reddish side and not brown or deeper in color then I remembered that I normally don't cook bolognese with any red wine. It just makes it less inexpensive but I'll be sure to try it out with red wine soon.

I also didn't have any celery in hand so I used more onions and carrots for this round which I simply diced and roughly chopped the carrots. I sauteed them in a wok with some vegetable oil for a couple of minutes with some salt then I add in the minced pork and sauteed it with some salt as well until they were fragrant.

Onions, carrots, and mince

Next, I added in crushed tomatoes and seasoned them with salt an bring everything up to a boil then simmer the bolognese for an hour. If you can cook it longer, go ahead. The longer a bolognese cooks, the better.

Pomodoro Sauce
Bolognese

At the end I add in some fresh milk which cuts down the sourness of the sauce and adds in a little creaminess to the dish. I cooked some spaghetti and added in to the sauce to cook and absorb the wonderful bolognese.

When plating, I sprinkled some parmesan cheese on top which made the dish extra delicious. A simple recipe with limited ingredients but maximum flavor!

1
$ 0.64
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments