FOODlog #116: Clay Pot Chicken Rice

0 16
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

My sister-in-law is in KL for 6 weeks as she's having an internship program which is part of her college degree course. Me and my family took her out for dinner to 'Malaysia Boleh!' hawker center at Four Seasons Hotel in town. This is my 3rd time there and I have to say this is my favorite hawker center in the whole KL and probably the best there is.

This time I had 'Claypot Chicken Rice'. A local favorite here in KL which I have been craving for some time. This stall only serves individual portions and are priced at RM13.50 (<4 USD).

It is rice that's cooked in a clay pot along with soy sauce, dark soy sauce, chicken, cured Chinese sausage slices, salted fish, and topped with freshly cut spring onions. The bottom of the dish has a crust of rice as the clay pot is cooked on an open flame. It gives it a charred aroma a makes the whole dish really savory and smoky.

Clay Pot Chicken Rice

Usually the chicken are pieces of chicken with the bone but this places serves it with a boneless chicken thigh which was easy to eat although I do still prefer the authentic and traditional bone-in chicken pieces.

My wife ordered her usual go-to dish at this place. She wanted to have 'Pan Mee' but the stall was close for some reason. So she ordered fried radish cake which is a savory dish like 'Char Kuey Teow' but instead of using flat rice noodles, they use white radish that has a springy texture.

'Char Kuey Kak'

For my son, we got him his favorite dish 'Chicken Rice' which this one is a type from a place called Ipoh. It's really super delicious and the rice is so fragrant from the chicken stock and fat it's cooked in. The chicken is so tender, moist, and perfectly cooked and topped with the best tasting soy sauce. He really loves it and I'm always tempted to order one for myself.

Ipoh Chicken Rice

We ordered a plate of oyster omelete that we absolutely love. It's a dish from the north west of Malaysia and isn't easy to come by a good tasting one here in the capital so this is a gem and serves really really good oyster omelete.

Oyster Omelete

What a great time we had together over super delicious food we don't eat every day.

1
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments