FOODlog #113: Koay Teow Th’ng

0 12
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

After recovering from food poisoning I went out for breakfast with my wife on one of the days and we also got lunch for the family on the way back.

Since I still wasn't feeling too comfortable yet, I ate a bowl of 'Koay Teow Th’ng' which is flat rice noodles with a clear chicken broth. It's a fairly popular dish here in Malaysia but not one of my go-to food to order. So I guess since I wasn't fully recovered it was a good time to eat something I normally don't order.

Koay Teow Th’ng

The bowl of soup had some pork slices, fish meatballs, and topped with some chopped spring onions and fried garlic. It wasn't oily and was light but don't be fooled by the look of it, it was so flavorful and super delicious. It was so good that now that I've recovered I want to go back to this place and have this bowl of noodles.

The fish balls were springy and tasty. The broth was light yet flavorful. The noodles were the perfect texture and paired perfectly with the bowl of soup. The spring onions gave the soup a freshness and the fried garlic added lots of earthy flavor to the soup. The soup was also seasoned with some white pepper that gave it a really nice aroma and taste. Every single thing in that bowl of noodle soup had purpose and complimented each other so well.

Birds Eye Chili with Soy Sauce

It also came with a side of birds eye chili and soy sauce for dipping but I skipped this as I didn't want any acidic food for the time being. Next round when I head to this place, I'll definitely enjoy this bowl of noodle soup with the spicy and salty soy sauce.

Can't wait! ~~

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
1 year ago

Comments