FOODlog #10: Fusion Paelle

0 8
Avatar for drumsticks
2 years ago
Topics: Cooking, Food, Foodie

Cooked lunch for the family today. I tried cooking some paella as today there's a water cut so I needed to use as little utensils and kitchen equipment as possible.

Made it all in 1 pan and a super successful attempt!

I started with toasting the rice in butter for a couple of minutes. I then added in sliced red n onion, garlic, some tomatoes and a spring of rosemary. After a couple of minus tossing them together, I added in minced pork and seasoned with salt, black pepper, and some MSG.

After cooking the pork for a bit and browning it, I added in water just enough to cover the rice. I put it on high heat and bring it to the boil and at all times remaining uncovered.

After the liquid evaporates, add more water it and repeat the process. Mid way cooking I also added in some slices of Chinese cured sausages. I also added in some turmeric to give it some nice color. You could add in smoked paprika as well, which I only remembered after I finished the dish so maybe that'll be for another time.

I then remembered I had some pork broth leftover from yesterday's soup in the fridge so for the 3rd round of adding in liquid, I used the pork broth instead. I then seasoned the dish again with more salt, black pepper, and white pepper.

On medium low heat, I cooked off the stock and continue letting it cook so the rice on the edges and at the bottom of the pan will continue cooking and get a nice brown crispy crust.

It turned out super successful and look at the crusty brown exterior. I shredded some asiago cheese on top before serving and done!

Super savoury and delicious and will definitely make this again.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
2 years ago
Topics: Cooking, Food, Foodie

Comments