Thank you for the gift

0 15
Avatar for dropout
2 years ago

Coming from one of the remote areas of the country, we have not spent a lot of dime of unnecessary things probably because of the nature of lifestyle there.

We spent on a thing or two like for needs and utilities. But then we still spent money.

We just had enough remaining after spending on fare. Let us say just a few more unnecessary spending and we will be broke.

But on our way here, I received a message from my sister that one of our siblings left us with cash gift when he left after visiting them.

I was elated to hear the news and right after arriving here to the city, I went straight to my sister to get the cash gift. It would be enough for two weeks before I receive my paycheck.

It was funny that I forgot to bring to my sister our 'pasalubong' to them and I was just kind of glimmered by money. Nevertheless, I went back to give to them some oranges and sticky cooked rice wrapped in small, triangular shapes of banana leaves.

They were happy to receive the pasalubong as well and I was equally happy to see the joy in their faces.

I do not have the contact number of the sibling that gave us money because he was kind of hard to find. So I told my sister to thank him for me.

I did not get his contact information anymore. When I do that, it will be to pay my previous debts to him. Someday, I will be able to.

And hopefully someday, I will also be the one to give out gift cash. But not now because I am the needy one now.

Reason for having incurred a lot of debts were of foolishness and gullibility. But after learning my lessons, I had a resolution to be managing money well.

They say it is better to give than to receive but it depends. It is also nice to receive especially if you know that the person is very able.

The feeling is contagious that you also would want to give some other time.

When I was young, I thought that they only tell that phrase in order to make the feelings of those who were not able to receive better.

It happens a lot in exchange of gifts in children that some are not able to prepare gifts. And for those who gave but did not receive, they tell them, "It is better to give than to receive."

And when we give, and we don't expect anything, we do it with all our hearts, that is the essence of the betterment of giving rather than receiving.

So when we give, wr truly give. So receivers will feel joy. When we receive, we only feel joy when the giver is doing it wholeheartedly.

So as receiver, our part would be to give thanks gratefully.

Let me say this to my dear sibling who gave me cash gift, "Thank you for the gift!"

5
$ 1.01
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for dropout
2 years ago

Comments