Go back to reading prints

0 9
Avatar for dropout
2 years ago

Is it arrogance? Or simply loss of interest?

I stopped reading books. The mere thought of using A LOT of time reading scares me that might miss my responsibilities.

But thinking about the time that I also consume for watching 'unreal' dramas is equally alarming.

I should then decide to go back to reading books. I have to prod myself to do it.

But reevaluating my reason for going back, I should set a more sensible reason. That I read simply because it enriches my mind and my soul.

To be one with the thoughts of the author, to read other's lives, to taste the flavor of writers and to simply enjoy reading...

With the emergence of gadgets these days, I just have a hard time going back to reading prints. Reading digital copies just isn't the same with reading like the old way.

Holding a book, smelling it's age, turning the pages--priceless!

Perhaps, it's time to incorporate this again into my hobbies. Besides, watching dramas doesn't satisfy me at all. Well it does but it's different when reading.

As to watching dramas, maybe I should pick better movies. I may have to research.

Reading opens our eyes to possibilities. It enlightens us at times, makes us skeptical as well, at the same time giving birth to curiosity.

I believe it is suspense novels that hooks me, at the same time, simple scenarios that has relevance to my current predicament.

I should then begin moving around, checking what's there for me to read.

Tomorrow or the next day, if I forget altogether about reading, then it can't be helped that I am not a person of my word.

This a challenge. Sort like that.

Hoping this generation will also try checking out books at the library. Hoping they'll also spend on books at bookstores instead of occasionally demanding gadgets from their parents.

Let's all try to read books in print. It lessens screen time and you could enumerate a lot more benefits in reading books.

3
$ 3.19
$ 3.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for dropout
2 years ago

Comments