Discipline myself to discipline my children

0 17
Avatar for dropout
2 years ago

It has dawned on me that discipline I try to instill to my son is different from my own discipline which he follows more than what I tell him to do.

I have heard of popular adages.

If I want my children to be wide readers, I must be a wide reader myself.

If I want them to be free of foul languages, I must be free from such as well.

If I want them to be honest, I have to be honest as well.

And that makes things challenging for the general population of adults, parents.

I observe that what I show these little children are also the very things they show to others.

I recently called my son some foul language and it hit me right back with the very same set of foul words. I was taken aback. Actually, I was shocked.

How could you!-is what I thought of him. Then I realized I also needed to be free from my own rottenness.

I hate to admit but I see myself in my children. Different versions of me are in them. Depending maybe on their choice of character they wanted to emulate.

One is fat, just like me. Another is a crybaby, just like me. And another yet is a bully, like me and her father.

My two sons are sweet, and so is their sweet younger sister. I too am sweet that is why they are so.

It will be an arduous path, having to live my children's lives but we will carry on and we will be positive, taking for ourselves the delights of life that we could. And until then, until we have let them graduate from our roofs, we have to always be consistent and disciplined ourselves.

3
$ 2.18
$ 2.18 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments