Devices talking back at me

0 14
Avatar for dropout
2 years ago

I was totally in love with my first ever netbook. Or should I say the only netbook I ever owned?

It was a small version of the regular laptop. It was a convenient device I could carry any place I go. I loved it! Soooo much!

The above is the picture of the device. It is now dirty and full of dirt since I just retrieved it and opened it for picturing.

I was totally into it. And I would let any visitor to our house not leave without first trying out my thing. They loved the small device as well.

They asked where I bought it. I told them where together with the price. Oh, it's rather cheap they said. But strong and fast.

I usually wear big handbags, those that could hold even up to 10 books. Therefore, I was able to house my netbook with many more other things.

Whenever I decide to use it, I simply take ot out from my bag. Before, I didn't have to worry about having low batter.

But what happened was that, there was this very popular game before that eventually took my battery's long life.

I would play the game all day, all night, without ever minding my battery. Came the time when I noticed that my battery was dwindling until it no longer could be left on for longer than an hour, then 30 minutes, then 10 minutes, without looking for a place to plug it in.

Even so, I was still rejoicing since I had the AC to get source from. I used it very very well for 10 years.

That was already a very long time to use a netbook but I would have been able to use it for longer had I not left my young children unattended.

My second child was able to remove all the built-in keyboards keys. He was so successful I bet I have spanked him during that time. I was so mad and teary-eyed.

Since I really needed a computer to use for my work, I looked for a cheap alternative.

So happened that time there was a colleague selling her laptop. It was a large one compared to my very small netbook.

I was lukewarm with the device after I purchased it. I kept lamenting I didn't like its heavy weight. I also have had a hard time changing its name owner in the system settings.

My heavy second-handed lappytops

Until the day it was splashed with water by yet another of my children. It was my daughter this time. She had her older brother put water inside her balloon.

I kept reminding them to play with those kinds of toys outside the house. I cautioned them to never play the thing near the laptop.

But one day, while my daughter was again playing with that kind of thing, balloon with water inside, she accidentally popped the balloon and water went to the keyboard.

Oh, I was so angry I also whipped her but it was too late. Some of the keys got damaged forever. Until it eventually graduated from this universe.

But it felt like I was free from its heavy weight! Finally! But then that would mean another sacrifice into our budget.

I decided to take care of my gadgets and devices lest they keep talking back to me. They are like saying, take care of us so we will take care of you.

If only I cared for my first device, then it would have been alive till now or it may have been destroyed anyway by other things but I would have felt better if it wasn't because of my carelessness.

And to the heavy thing, I would just like to apologize once and for all for my lack of love for you. Forgive me and rest in peace.

To my device-to-be, I will not promise but I will do my best to care for you. The best I can.

I am thinking of creating an office-like space at my house. A place where I should only be the one allowed. Not to let anybody touch anything there. Except with my permission and with my presence.

At least when unexpected things happen, it should not be about my carelessness and mindlessness. Also, it should not be my kids being undisciplined and all. I hate it when my kids lack the necessary discipline.

5
$ 1.45
$ 1.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for dropout
2 years ago

Comments