Attend to your health needs

0 24
Avatar for dropout
2 years ago

This should be more of a self advice than telling it to you, dear readers. But I can't help speaking in case someone listens.

I've been a critic. Why? Because I kept criticizing others why they got their illness. No, it's not what you think.

It's simply, without me noticing, I would give out remark like "She got sick... Maybe because of what she did back then..."

And it would hit me that that would exactly what I might tell myself.

I have been drinking sweet and very sugary beverages. I wasn't minding it because I thought I would just offset drinking sweet drinks with cups of warm water.

I sometimes notice that I forget drinking cups of warm water which tricks me into feeling tenderness inside my throat.

I woke up one night feeling as if my throat would hinder my swallowing.

I can't describe what I was feeling inside, at the base of my tongue. It was like the one that is shaped like 'U' that is attached at the back of the upper mouth has ballooned so that I felt like I could swallow it. I think the U-shaped thing is called an uvula.

Instead of swollen uvula, it was more like a ballooned uvula. I mean it. I hated how it felt. At least I didn't lose my voice so I could communicate what I was feeling to my family.

I was afraid of swallowing in case I will swallow a part of my body when the U-shaped flesh would burst. Thankfully, it didn't and that I was able to hold out until I felt better.

I instantly became worried and agitated. What if this will cause me to have complications and that I might die earlier than what I would want.

I can't help regretting eating very hot foods the past days that might have seared my throat opening including my tonsils, adenoids and uvula.

Aside from hot foods, the excessive pepper use may have also done something for my uvula to balloon.

But here comes the realization that it may have been the very sweet hot coffee that seared my uvula.

I keep drinking that kind of beverage and I even stick to a brand of instant coffee.

I suddenly wished I listened to my advisers more. That I should stop drinking very sweet beverages.

I keep praying this will be different from something more serious. I believe my sin didn't transcend my sweet-drinking habit. My conscience is clear beyond that.

Oh, one more thing, lately I am refusing to eat fruits. Not vegetables but fruits. I just felt as if I wasn't in the mood for them. I promise I will take more of them. Both fruits and vegetables.

I will not be drinking sweet beverages anymore. No buts... I have to prioritize my health. I want to live longer.

I wouldn't want this seemingly simple condition to progress into something not curable.

I then recommend each of us to attend to our health needs. Let us not postpone taking care of ourselves.

I am feeling better now but I am still very much worried about my condition even though I have no headache, malaise, or the like.

So, better be safe than sorry. Let us think of our loved ones.

Until then, gracias for reading.

3
$ 3.11
$ 3.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for dropout
2 years ago

Comments