A Sad Christmas

6 29
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

Come together friends and sit tight, probably grab a popcorn if you can. I'm about to tell you a lovely tale. In the spirit of Christmas, I want to talk about my worse Christmas experience. I have no idea how this will fit in an Acrostic, but I will figure something out... I guess. Pardon me if I drop the acrostic at some point lol.

CLick ☝🏾 For Source

Happiness is one of the things that Christmas brings. What happens when happiness is taken away from you during Christmas. It was our tradition to travel to the village every December for the Christmas celebrations. As we all know there is the maternal villa and the paternal villa. My paternal home is usually boring during Christmas celebration. This is because my dad is the only son among four girls. Now that they have grown and all gotten married, the girls [now women] always travel to their husband's places for Christmas celebration, leaving only my dad to come back and take Care of the village house.

Regards to this, I always prefer traveling to my maternal home for Christmas celebration because over there is always more fun compared to my paternal home. This is because my mum has about 6 brothers and most of them live outside the country. During Christmas period, they all come back with their family and children, making the compound lively and full of children to play with. And not just that, after the celebrations we were sure of going home with some dollar bills😉

It all began on the 21st night when we had a family meeting to decide where we would be spending the holiday That Year. We were presented with three options; Holiday In Town, Holiday In Mum's Villa Or Holiday In Dad's Villa. Majority voted for my mom's because it is always more fun compared to Dad's villa. The only disadvantage was that dad wouldn't be there with us. Dad never comes with us to mom's villa, this is probably because he holds a crucial post in the village, therefore he had to be present for several meetings. It was settled, Mum Will Drive Us to her villa the next day while dad will drive solo to his villa.

Click☝🏾 For Source

Since morning I have been so excited about our journey, especially after hearing that one of my uncles were back already. We packed our bags, loaded the car, bid farewell to dad and zoomed off. It took us barely two hours to get to villa. You should know my mum is A fast and furious driver. She probably learned from Dad, Because some times I wonder if my dad is related to Dominic Torredo in any way😅. My grandparents were so happy to see us, it has actually been a while we came to the villa. They have gotten so old lol. Now here's another advantage over Dad's villa, his house in the village has no one occupying it. Whenever we travel there, we have to spend like two days cleaning up the house and clearing bushes in the compound before we get to settle down.

Click☝🏾 For Source

Thanks to my cousins, the first few days of Christmas was quite fun. My grand dad was the king of his community and he had two wives, each with their separate building. This made the compound wide enough to contain A football pitch. We played all sort of games. Most of my cousins were raised abroad so it was fun teaching them how to speak Igbo and how to play some local games. One of them suggested we had A boxing fight, all my siblings declined saying there's no fun in that. Being A person that found fun in everything, I accepted the challenge. Only to be knocked out in 2 minutes and went home with a swollen eye.

Morning of 24th December started like every other day. We woke up, said family prayers, did our morning chores and we were off to have fun. All the children of the house usually gathered under a big tree in the middle of the compound to decide a game to play. That day we decided to explore the king's palace. That has been on our TO-do list for a long time, but grand dad was always hosting several meetings in the palace. Today was our lucky day, the palace was completely empty. We stormed the palace like hoodlums, we explored every inch of the palace, pictures of all our parents were framed and hung in different party of the palace. The palace was built in such a way that you had to climb a long stairs to enter the king's throne. Then one of us came up with a game idea, whoever jumps down from the king's throne without using the stairs gets to sit on the throne till a new winner emerged.

At first the game was fun. It got to my turn, I jumped, almost making it, but I fell in between the second and the third step. I landed with the wrong side of my ankle. I heard my bone krrrack. I screamed! I cried. My cousins were confused, so they ran to get an older person. I was rushed to the hospital. It happened that I broke an ankle, I had to stay the night at the hospital. I didn't want to. I wanted to go home with my parents. I cried, but my crying didn't help my case. They stayed with me for some hours then went home when it got pretty late.

Click☝🏾 For Source

Sunday which happened to be Christmas day. The D-day. There I lay in the hospital bed with a broken leg. I hated myself. I would have just followed my dad to his villa. I would have stayed indoors. So many thoughts clouded my mind. I imagined how much fun every body would be having at home. The fireworks, the masquerades, the cow that was slaughtered before my eyes. I cried. The hospital tried to put on A show for it's Patients by inviting father Christmas and all that. But that didn't cheer me up. My parents visited later in the day with food, chicken and some goodies. That didn't cheer me up either. Nothing could change the fact that I spent my Christmas day on a hospital bed.

*************************************************************

We did it lol! This was A Christmas Acrostic challenge by @McJulez

As we get ready to celebrate 
Christmas this season. Let us
Remember that there are people 
out there who can't celebrate
Due to one reason or the other
Some are in the hospital, some
are in the streets begging, some 
are in the orphanage home.
Please do extend a gesture of
Kindness towards them.

*******************************

Here are my lovely sponsors. Great Handsome Gentle Men! More Grace Your Way Boss Men!

Sponsors of doziekash_
empty
empty
empty

*******************************

            $toryTeller👻

9
$ 0.19
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.04 from @King_Gozie
+ 2
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

Comments

Awwwn... What we do as kids.

Well as for me, I have not had the opportunity to visit my dad's villa. In fact, I have been to my mum's just once, I think 12years ago.

I hear people speak about the fun of traveling to the village, I hope I would experience it someday

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. Is there A reason in particular why you don't travel to your villa?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas are supposed to be celebrate with joy why sadness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously, if you could ask me where would I want to celebrate my Christmas? It has been my paternal's home always. My mother's side, there is no fun at all because it's local. My Dad's siblings are very fun and everywhere is always lively and also we have big compound compared to my mom's side.

Sorry you had to spend your Christmas in the hospital 😄😄

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol.. I think There's always a more fun side between the two sides

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life has always been the interplay of crisis and victory!

$ 0.01
2 years ago