The bravest thing I've ever done

4 20

Certainly, there are so many things in life that are indeed a challenge that is too conquering for us. Though there are things that are easy but as to these days, and having grown up, I can really feel that everything feels like a heavy task.

Hello to every readers out here, hope you are having a great. It's me once again and I will try to write my thoughts about something I am trying to reminisce in the distant past.

I was back then, a normal college student. I try to attend to all of my classes and make sure I don't do absences a lot since my siblings are the ones helping and supporting my financial needs in my studies, which is why I don't like to be too chill, haha. But I don't like to ask to much from them as I might hear something unpleasant, just barely enough to cover my expenses.

As far as I can remember, I have a lot to be thankful with my family because I did not have much of a problem in terms of finances during college, there were only a few times but still made it on the deadlines, we're not from a rich family but certainly we are trying our best that everyone could be a degree holder.

But the only thing I'd get worried is when. .

I get into an argument with my parents, oftentimes my father. Since then, me and my Father have been so close. We barely had a moment together as a family. It seems like the connection that we had has been narrowing over the years. And yes, of all of our siblings, it is I who gets into trouble with him quite often. He is not a type of a Father that gets physical when I get to answer him in our arguments, but most of the time, the reason we get to argue is because of his mouth.For a man, he's quite a nagger, he's keep bringing up my mistakes in the past, things made me a bit rebellious to them . And aside from that, we just don't share the same passion on things in life, and I hate it when he has pressed those upon me multiple times in the past.

I tried to understand him as advised by my older brother who also shared the same pain as me, I extended my patience as time went on. But there are just times that I'd be full of his antics and we get into another argument.

And the worst of our arguments came,

I was already a Practice Teacher at that time, and it was the middle of semester and I was at home as it was a weekend. Then my father easily gets mad that time and we got into an argument once again over very petty things, but this time he was so enraged and has said certain things like he'd tell my siblings to withdraw their support for me. I got so mad and disappointed at his words, that I immediately packed my bags and left home like I'm on a trip to nowhere.

But one thing I had in mind, I'd certainly want to finish my studies despite having the feeling of being down that time. I really wanted to be a college graduate so bad, because I want to land a good job, that will increase my chance of having to work far away from ours, that was my goal back then.

I was still lucky that my siblings, especially my sisters understands my feelings and still sent me allowances during that time, as I really came to our boarding house straight from our town. And when I came to school for my OJT Duties, I did the usual things I do. And I never showed any signs of problems bothering me. But I did tell a few classmates about my problem, and I was happy that they are kind and did not condemn me even more because of it. Instead, they told me that me and my father will be just fine soon. They are so encouraging, and that because of them, I was still able to don a smile at every one in school since they helped me divert my thoughts into the positive things in life.

A month later during that time,

I was able to muster courage, and went home. I ask for forgiveness at my father for being a hard headed son. And I was glad, that we became okay and since then, I was able to go home every week from school, with no quarrels.

Author's Note

We certainly have our own experiences with our parents, there are pleasant things and there are times that it isn't. But I am glad that I became braver to stand up in my problems, and did my very best to fight for my dreams despite feeling crumbled inside when that happened. Wishing that everyone would still acknowledge and think very highly of their parents, because even though we felt hurt, they've still did a big part in helping us on becoming who we are now.

And I am always thankful that God really helped me through the darkest moments of my life.

Lead image was taken from Unsplash

4
$ 8.55
$ 8.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Eunoia
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy

Comments

I honestly don't had good relationship with my father since young. And that's what I wanted to change when the days come that I will be a father in my own. I don't want the feeling and experience given to me. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same thoughts bro, if ever I'd have a child of my own soon, I would not want him to go through the same pain that I had growing up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone of us has its own story when it comes to our parents. Hurot ako believe nmo sir naa mn sa momentum pag think sa past hahah murag wa rai 30 mins. Cguro n ghimo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, ganiha pako ani nag himo mga 6PM niya na undang pag gkan panihapon, plus chika2 pata 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago