dealing with shyness

5 29
Avatar for denisemorningstar
3 years ago

in the shoes of my friend

Each of us have had different approach in coping up and or entirely avoiding shyness in getting in the way of everything we do. Shyness had become the most used alibi when dealing with tasks at hand, it became a popular excuse for not accomplishing even the most simple things; it had become a huge hindrance in socializing. Socializing is important as our environment starts getting wider. Practicing proper etiquette and possessing good social construct is crucial in every individual as we tend to communicate and connect as we go on our lives. But socializing isn't always that easy for most of us, some tend to be reserved and choose the company of themselves for comfort. Each o us differ in socializing and presenting ourselves to others. Growing up, I had a strong support system behind me, my mom is a teacher and that she always believe in everything I do as a child. She pushes me to do these things she believe I should take part of; such as joining competitions at school, presentations and anything that had to do with socialization and interaction with other kids. I was raised with overwhelming support and I think that helped a lot during my younger years. Of course, shyness always gets in the way, but as a child I tend to overcome it with the help of those around me. The strong support and assurances around me was a factor that made me stand up on my own, a trait that I had bring with me until high school. I am told to stand my ground and stood up to what I think is right and what I think made sense. Shyness does not got into the way most of the time. It helped me participate and present myself at class and in general. The highschool environment is an avenue of strong competition, and the trait I acquired early made me adapt on how to cope with different competitions may it be academically or public presentations. And because of it, I was able to show the hidden potentials in me. Interaction in high school is tricky, as I myself and the people my age were undergoing the awkward stages of adolescence---a period when we develop consciousness and being aware of things we aren't paying attention much before. I choose to strengthen things that I know speaks confidence, like dancing and of course being academically active. I believed that the support system I got when I was younger had become a strong factor on how I see myself and what other potential I could show. When I first entered FEU, I was overwhelmed at how different it was than high school, of course. It is a much, much wider avenue to venture and explore. The environment awed me as I came to the realization that I will be dealing with a lot of different types of people. Dealing with diverse people had become a challenge at first as I consider myself new, and that I am not particular with them and that I didn't know much about the people I will be with for the next four years of my life. But I managed to come through, had managed to adapt to the environment and people by putting myself in and not considering myself as an outcast. I belong here.I formed friendships and had established relationships with people in the university. College is way more complex than high school---here, it's not much about competition anymore. Before, high school was an avenue to show off, compete with others but college is the real deal, where the competition is no other than ourselves, college is the final stage where we can decide what will we become in life. Interaction is a must, shyness is not. I believe that in college, weakness isn't the norm. It is the preparation for the real world. Opportunities comes and goes and so does shyness and the two should never coexist.

4
$ 2.08
$ 2.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TheDINO
Avatar for denisemorningstar
3 years ago

Comments

I enjoyed reading your shyness and how to overcame it. I hope I can read more of you <3 New subscriber here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! That's true. I was also shy before but now I have learnt how to stand in front of people to make a speech. But not all kinds of gathering.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes! i can also relate to you. I am not shy to selected people and before i speak in a large gathering i feel so nervous and have uneasy stomach. however, if I'm in condition I can be able to perform well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

overcome 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago