Top 5 Book Recommendation

22 41
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Yesterday, my sister and I had the chance to go out and run some errands. As we are about to go out, I remembered a friend who posted in her story last week that there had been a community library near us. I asked my sister if we could drop by our old books because we were searching for some donors for the children books in our house. All of them are in good condition so it would be a waste to just throw it out and if we visit, we could get some books if we ever spot a book that we like. 

I have been reading since high school. It started with Wattpad because everyone else in our class has been reading “Break the Cassanova's Heart Operation”. I joined them too and I’ll admit, I really enjoyed that book.  

Then slowly they started buying novels. I never bought my own book, I don’t know why, I just borrowed it from my friends. Slowly, I became more and more addicted to it and always find time to read a book. It stopped a bit when I was reviewing for the board exams but I continued it during this quarantine. 

This is supposed to be an article about my favorite book but I really can’t sum it into one book and I have so many favorites, so I’ll just share with you my Top 5 book recommendations. 

THE SUBTLE ART OF NOT GIVING A FUCK BY MARK MANSON

Source: https://sergiocaredda.eu/inspiration/books/a-book-review-the-subtle-art-of-not-giving-a-fuck/

I have been reading this since December last year, I think? I am actually a fast reader but with this book it made me stop a million times and realize so much. It’s not that I don’t read it as much but there are explanations there that really made me close the book and ponder about it. It really helped me a lot and changed my perspective on other things. I’m still reading it, I’m not even half-way through and I was reading it before in an e-book but finally, I bought a physical copy of it. 

This is a must read and it’s super duper digestible but it would really slap you in your face. 

NOVEMBER 9 BY COLLEEN HOOVER

Source: http://simonandschusterpublishing.com/november-nine/index.html

This was one of the fastest books I ever read because I literally can’t stop between the chapters. I remember reading it when I was in college and it was after finals week, when everything else was pretty toned down. I used to read a book during these times. 

I love this book because of its plot and how it was arranged. This was one of the books that I never saw the plot coming which is a hard find as most of the stories get more and more cliche. 

Though this is a romance book, it’s a great book and I’m excited if it will ever be turned into a movie but I’m hoping and praying that they’ll make a good job out of it.

ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES BY JENNIFER NIVEN

Source: http://www.germmagazine.com/whats-in-a-name-all-the-bright-places/

This is not my recommendation as it is not for everyone, this book talks about mental health which you might be familiar with if you saw the movie.

I just like the way it was written, it was so magical for me even though it’s a sad book and it shows how people deal differently with tragedies and trauma. But the main reason I love this book is because of its composition, the way it was written or maybe because in a way I can relate to Violet? I’m not entirely sure. 

I’m just gonna say though, the movie sucks. It was nowhere near the book. I know it’s mainly referenced from the book but the feels and vibes to it? Is just not there. Last rant, I always imagined Asa Butterfield would’ve played that role perfectly. 

THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER BY STEPHEN CHBOSKY

Source: https://www.worldofbooks.com/en-us/books/stephen-chbosky/the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower/9781471133466

This is one of the books that inspired me to write everything I feel. This is mainly a book about transitioning from a child to a teenager, The horror, adventure, misery, tragedy and everything that comes along with adolescence. 

This book is not for everyone too and I read this twice. Once when I was in high school which didn’t have much impact and the other, during this quarantine which made me tear up and ponder about life. I just wish I had a friend like Charlie, though most of the time I feel like Charlie but me being a wallflower is a joke! HAHAHAHHAHAHAHA.

THE ALCHEMIST BY PAULO COELHO

Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18144590-the-alchemist

This is one of the books that I’ve read during the quarantine. This is one of the most eye opening books that I read. It teaches a lot of life lessons and realizations. This made me literally stop reading for a while because it has too much to ponder on and I can’t simply move on from it. 

I think the main reason here is that there are things that shouldn’t be simply given to us, that things have more meaning and value if we worked hard for it. I also learned why beginner’s luck is really a thing and why people don’t achieve anything because of it too. 


These are some of the books that is really close to my heart. I might say if humans are a mosaic of everyone they meet and everything they read, see, touch and taste, these books will always have a place in the mosaic of my existence. 

If you have a chance, you can read them and if you already did, tell me your thoughts!

See you around!

12
$ 9.89
$ 9.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I love All The Bright Places, November 9 (All Hail to the Queen of Romance -- CoHo), and The Alchemist!!! But, I think I need some recap on these three. I've read them what seems to be ages ago. As I was scribbling last night, I saw this quote that is written on my sketchpad with some doodles of November 9...

"You'll never be able to find yourself if you are lost in someone else." - November 9

And I was like, my goodness, what's the story again? But I do know I super love this book, the three that I've mentioned.

Paolo Coehlo's books give food for our thought. It will surely make us think and realize some things. Also, have you read any of Mitch Albom's books? The Five People You Meet in Heaven is a must-read!

Also, I'm one of the Wattpad Titas, too. My first read was Tamako Sia by Black Lily. Hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't tried Mitch Albom but I've watched the film, The Five People You Met in Heaven and it's in my to-read list along with Tuesdays with Morrie!!! There's so much to reaaaad, but recently I've been lazy. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I will go for "All The Bright Places". I am not surprised that the movie is no where near the reality of the book. A lot gets thrown away while movies are being scripted while leaving the tiny details that appeals to every individual.

Thank you for the heads up as I won't bother looking for the movie 🤣🤣😂.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don’t even bother 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Good luck, have fun reading it! 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂🤣 thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always wanted to read Paulo Coelho's The Alchemist but it's too expensive to buy for its physical copy. I prefer physical copies din kase you can feel the book better. Haha I'm gonna save for that book probably.

You should read "Brida" too. It's one of his masterpieces too. The first one on your list is still in my cart though. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m planning to have my own physical copy too 😭 I just read it on ebook 🥺 meron pa pong isa na maganda parang paulo coelho vibes din po, the great divorce. I can’t add it coz I haven’t read it pero maganda daw po 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who's the author? Have you read To Kill A Mockingbird?

Turtles All The Way Down by John Green too is a very good read 🥺❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

C.S. Lewis, I haven’t read to kill a mockingbird and turtles all the way down po 🥺 maybe soon 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

those are good reads, Stella. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perfect timing to see this in my notification as I was looking for books to read. The Alchemist piqued my interest. Btw have you read "The Secret" by Rhonda Byrne?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

The Alchemist is such a good book and I think you’ll finish it in just a few days. It’s just a light read but teaches you a lot.

I searched about the The Secret and I think it’s a pretty good book! I will try and add it in my to read list 😬 Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Favorite ko rin yung the subtle art of not giving a F, planning to buy the physical copy at 6.6 uwu

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

It’s a life-changing book, tbh. I already bought mine last 5.5, go for it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read a lot of stuff, novels mostly, but there is one book that struck me IOCOCCA, An Autobiography. Lee Iococca, an automobile executive known for developing the iconic Ford Mustang. He helped make Ford Motors rise to stratospheric heights, but when his fame threatened Henry Ford, he was made to quit. He then moved to Chrysler and did miracles there, too. It was a very engaging book, with a lot of lessons to pick up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the reco!!! I’ll add it in my listttt ❤️❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Add "Rich Dad Poor Dad" in this list. I suggest you to read it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read it before but didn’t get to finish it 😭😭😭😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. Try to read it. Or of you dont want to read whole book then I am writing an article on this book today. You should read that instead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, I will try and finish it and I’ll try and read your article too 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pleasure ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago