Pretty Privilege

12 49
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

I have been catching up on The Good Doctor over my mini vacation. I last saw the first season during college and now I’m surprised that it’s already in season 4!

Well I guess, time really flies fast. I contemplated if I will start at season 2 since I finished season 1 already but I forgot most of it and I have the extra time, so I decided to rewatch season 1. 

As I was watching, one line really struck me, even before, I remember tweeting it because of the weigh it gives me and I genuinely think that this is true. It goes along the lines of…

“Attractive people have certain advantages.”

It was said by Dr. Shaun Murphy, a surgical resident in San Jose, St. Bonventure Hospital. He was diagnosed with autism and at the same time, with savant syndrome. 

If you look at it, if he has autism which makes it difficult for him to follow social cues, for him to say it, it must be really evident. 

It’s also a topic that’s been popping up in social media lately. I have seen a few videos on Facebook and Tiktok about how they have experienced pretty privilege. 

Pretty Privilege

Pretty privilege works in the principle that people who are deemed more attractive—based on societal beauty standards—have an upper hand in the world and are afforded many opportunities that us regular folks don't have. 

Source

First things first, do I believe in it? Absolutely.

I think it's hyprocrisy or plain ignorance trying to believe otherwise.

Have I experienced pretty privilege? I wish. HAHAHAHAHA.

I think, so far, I have worked hard for everything that I have now and I wish I was pretty enough to even qualify for a privilege. 

But there have been numerous stories about how some pretty girls - as defined by the societal beauty standard - have experienced it. From as simple as getting an extra donut in their orders, getting discounts in certain restaurants and to getting assisted first and even nicer compared to other people. 

I mean, it’s already 2021, discrimination have been hated  for the longest time. More and more campaigns are being organized to raise awareness so that injustices and inequality will be eradicated.

Personal Experiences

I remember there were times that when another girl and I entered a shop at the same time, people were more inclined to serve her, even though they can just basically split the job and serve us both. 

And in high school and even college, do you notice how after every event the whole class would clean up and stack up chairs. The prettier ones got the boys' help while the others have to do it on their own?

How about when it comes to talents and presentations, I’m just kinda pissed of at how attractive people always gets the lead role even if there is someone who has more talent for it. 

I know it sound petty and it feels like I’m whining why I don't get these privileges but there are people who experience being discriminated because of these privileges. And worse some people are having mental issues, especially if this is being slapped on to their faces.

I think it’s not that evident in this time as compared to before. Mainly because we're learning that we really have different perceptions about beauty and if you look at it, I know it sounds cliche, we are really beautiful in our own way. 

Boys have pretty privileges too

I do believe that this is not only applicable to girls, I’m a firm believer that boys experience this too. For all I know this can even be more evident in them. 

Do you know how we joke about when a supposedly “ugly guy'' tries to help you, and our immediate response is that they are being a pervert? When a supposedly “handsome guy” helps you out, we think of them highly as a gentleman and would praise them for it. 

It has different applications and perceptions but the basic concept is still there, pretty privilege can be experience regardless of gender.


There are more instances and scenarios where pretty privileges have been present but we are not aware of it because we don't think of it as harmful. I think some of us might have felt discriminated against at one point in our life.

Though, I’m happy that most people don’t experience this as much unlike before but it is still out there. 

For me pretty privilege is so 2010, treating each other equally with no biases is the new cool and sexy. hehe.

Lead image: Photo by Amelia Wahyuningtias on Unsplash


5
$ 5.32
$ 5.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
+ 5
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

When we grow in a community where biases are common..., we just can't live with it, but something has to be done..,

Also watched the good doctor, it was a great show portraying success can be achieved as longbas we work on it..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree. Pretty privileges are even more obvious right now especially on social media. The good-looking influencers? They can get so many products for free!!! While others still need to work for those. Well, I get it that it's their job but I know for the fact that there are less good-looking influencers and they don't get the same privileges as other influencers have. That's why others are pressured to look even more pretty than they already are. I mean, it's not bad to enhance their looks but sadly, others do it not for the sake of themselves, but for the sake of the society.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeaaah, this is so true. It’s easier to get famous if you are pretty as you have the upper hand of things 😓

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes this definitely happens. Hahaha. It might seem unfair but this is how it is in this world. Sad reality. Haha. There is even a rich privilege. The rich are served first before everyone else, now that's even worse. 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think the rich privilege is pure garbage 🤢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then do I also experience pretty privilege? I mean, i get discounts way too often or am I just lucky? 😂😂😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Let our response be: sana all. 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true. Treating people without preferential treatment is the new sexy. It's funny how the world works sometimes but I am glad people are more aware about what others can offer other than good looks.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahhh, the unfairness in the universe is real! So lesser mortals just better be aware of it, and learn to fight for their space, if warranted, or just do better than the pretty ones. I'd like to think that at the back of their minds, these privileged beauties know their entitlements may eventually run out and they'd have to pull their own weight at some point in time. I'm sure that's a scary thought for them, too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It’s even scarier if they are aware of it and continuously use it for their advantage 😖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scarier? I think maddening is more like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago