Plucking my heartstrings

17 33
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Music, Life

Ever since I was a child, I was already exposed to music. Having a band within the family, my dad playing ever since he was a teenager and my mom being a singer, a former choir member is the reason for all of this. 

Maybe the reason why I have such a diverse playlist because of how much music I was exposed to. My dad would sometimes play Nirvana, Led Zeppelin, Weezer, Coldplay and many more bands. Then my mom would play Cranberries and on Sundays our grandpa would have a radio station he would always listen to.

Early years

I started being attached to music just by dancing, I’m not that great at it but I can learn moves quickly probably because of the innate rhythm that I got. I danced in most of my childhood, sometimes even in our family gatherings and school events. 

When I was around 5th grade, I joined the choir in our church and stayed there for almost 4-5 years. This is where I learned the value of harmony. I'm an alto and I usually sing different notes with the original tune. I must say that there is nothing more fulfilling than making 4 voices blend together and come out into this nice masterpiece. 

High school

Upon reaching high school, I wanted to learn guitar because I feel like girls who play guitars are so cool. I started with easy songs, mainly the ones with G-D-Em-C chord progression, by this time I’d cry over bar chords so much. 

This is my first guitar 🎸

My 4th year of high school came or 10th grade for most of you. My classmates and I decided to build a band. We were choosing the members and we had a dilemma. Most of us know how to play the guitar but no one knows how to play the bass guitar. 

My dad is a bassist for most of his bands, so I volunteered to learn the bass in a span of 2 weeks. Learning the bass is not as hard as learning the guitar, probably because I have the basic knowledge for it but the thing is, bass strings are way much thicker than guitar strings. 

We would always practice for hours and sometimes it'd make my fingers bleed. After all of the effort and constant studio trips after every class, fortunately we were the champions for that school year. 

We sang Breakeven by The Script and Safe and Sound by Taylor Swift but I rearranged it in a more rock-ish feel. We turned up the tempo, heavily relied on the bass and the drums to make constant beat drops and the amazing lead guitar solo for Safe and Sound made it possible for us. 

Since we are the champions, we were given a task that will happen for the first time in our school. We were assigned to compose a song for our graduation song which was nerve-wracking. We mostly did the lyrics and asked my dad to help with the instruments and melody and it turned out way much better than we ever expected. Up until now, when we get along, we would play this song or sing it out, this is really a nostalgic moment for us. 

College

Most of my college days, I rarely touched my guitar or any other musical instruments because things at school are quite busy but when I do, I’d play for hours. Mainly I cover some songs and learn a new song. Sometimes, I bring my guitar to school and just jam along with my classmates but not much because the hassle of bringing my guitar is too much.

I’ve also been playing as part of the worship band in our church when there is a lack of band members because usually I'm on the documentation team. Sometimes I play the guitar, bass, beatbox or sometimes even lead the worship. Probably because of the lack of manpower, I’ll just be assigned a task that no one can do for the meantime. I’ve been arranging songs too whenever we play. Even with our concerts or usual worship we try to make the song our own. 

Present 

Recently, I don’t play as much, mainly because of Covid. The thing that makes me pick up my guitar is for a performance most of the time. But I still listen to songs everyday, it feels like I can’t really survive this world without it. 

I recently learn to play ukelele

I just sit in my room, turn up music that matches my mood or sometimes go and listen to some indie ones. I miss concerts to be honest, it just feels sad that when I have the ability to buy concert tickets with my own money, there’s no more concerts to watch. 


Jamming with Octy 🥰

I just realized that music has been a huge part of my life, it provides one of the basic foundations of my identity. I wish I could grab my guitar and sing with a crowd again, but for now I’ll just keep singing to Octy. 

See you around!




11
$ 10.69
$ 10.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Music, Life

Comments

I think I need to join Octy and be part of your audience. I have always wanted to learn how to play the guitar but I have been lazy and haven't taken serious steps to learn it. I have always found guitars to be so cool. I love music. I feel music speaks and I love how we lose our emotions to it while absorbing it in.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, octy is getting a bit tired listening of me 😂😂😂

Now it’s easier to learn with the help of YouTube, a lot of people actually learned due to the pandemic. You can do it if you really put your mind to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe so too, I just have to put my mind to it. Maybe we would do a duet some day 😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who knowwws? 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I will hold that torch of hope.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana may sample naman jan 🤩. Gustong gusto ko mandin matutonf mag gitara noin, kaso mo walang maga turo, obob ko oa naman turuan aigoo. Tapos piano din I also want to learn tapos drums, kaso hahaha pano ba kasheeee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Start ka ate sa ukelele, medyo madali lang po yun tapos Youtube is the key lang po ateee.

Pero pinakabasic po talaga is piano, if marunong ka po magpiano, madali na lang po lahat ng instrument 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, wala kaming instrument 😩. Ang hirap naman haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Music is really indispensable to me, honestly.

You are musically-inclined indeed. So talented!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Almost all of us in our family is, parang nasa dugo na ata namin.

Thank youuuu 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you familiar with the Mahalo Guitar video tutorial on youtube? That's where I learned the guitar. It was helpful. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi po ate ehhhhh, si papa po kasi talaga nagturo sakin eh.

Nagplaplay ka din po pala ng guitar? 😱😱😱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Before pero di ko na kaya ngayon. Di ko na ma bend fingers ko eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awieeeee, pero okay lang yan ate, nagpia-piano ka naman. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Piano nlng yung manageable eh. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Playing the guitar again, even without a concert to perform in, should help you get some sense of balance with all that's going on around you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeeeep, sobrang nakakahelp po siya druing stressful dayssss, lala na po if hindi makatulog

$ 0.00
2 years ago