Lost girl, not ready to be found.

17 38
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Have you ever experienced knowing what to write but you can’t seem to put it into words? That’s what I’m feeling right now, I have this grand concept in my head but I can’t seem to find the first sentence to start this whole thing. 

Anyway, this is my take on @JonicaBradley 's writing prompt for the week with the theme darkness.


It’s been a year since I started feeling lost. I have written about some of my mental health struggles every now and then, so some of you might have a slight idea of what’s going on with my head or if you don't it's okay, I don't understand myself too.

I can say that I’ve been at one of the lowest points in my life and it probably started when my Aunt died last July 2020 due to Covid. Her death was a bit expected as she was on dialysis and we all knew that she would be taken away from us soon. It’s not that grief has made me spiral into this loophole, it’s the sudden slap of responsibilities that I had to take over at a very young age. I was 21 back then, there's a pandemic and I'm the only one in our house that has a job. It's quite overwhelming and I don't recommend it to anyone.

If you know me before all of this, you would know that I am one of the most goal driven people there is, what I say I make it happen. But fate and destiny really have a way of fucking us and humbling us down. 

I have been in and out of therapy since August 2020 up until now. I had a recent visit last week, that's why I've been inactive in my social media account and even here. I actually feel bad that I don't read some of your articles.

I went from severe anxiety and depression then went to moderate or manageable back to severe again. Fortunately, no medical intervention was needed as I am really not the person to self-harm, I just want things to stop for me but it won’t ever, right?

I was actually afraid of telling people this because a lot of them look up to me and I want to be the best role model that I could be especially for my sisters but it ends up in a horrible way.

First, I’m setting unattainable expectations for them and for those who look up to me, you know Filipinos, “if she can do it, the world can do it too”. Another thing is, it’s exhausting to be perfect all the fucking time and I am led to believe that there is more to learn in the failures rather than in victories. 

I started by telling my friends about my therapy visits and they’re all shocked and don’t know what to do. Me as a person whom most of my friends go to when they needed help, also needs help to pick herself up is what really surprised them. Well I can’t really blame them. The thing about me is I that I can tell you my problems but in a way that will make you believe that I have it all figured out together. So most of my friends won’t really worry about me because as they say "I got it all figured out". 

Photo by Artyom Korshunov on Unsplash

But the thing is… I don’t know what I’m doing. HAHAHAHA. I’m as lost as everybody else. Scratch that, I am currently hiding most of the time, I might think I’m lost but if you look at it I’m not really lost, I’m hiding and to be honest I don’t want people to find me. 

Darkness is the absence of light and right now, I can say I’m in the darkness, well metaphorically. As much as I want to be the facade that I am and tell you a success story of how I survived my college and that was darkness, I just don’t want to be superficial anymore. 

I feel like I’ve been a person that pleases people and not really being who I am. It’s not that I want to be accepted or things like that, it’s more that I really want to make the world a better place and if I inspired one person I feel like I made a difference. 

But the sick reality of this is when you inspire one, you crave for more and it ends you up in this hole where all you think is you’re doing your best for other people but in reality, you’re doing it for your self satisfaction now. 

I’m fucked up inside, I know but I think we all are. There are things that we cannot really put into light and maybe the real me is lost or hiding but I’m not sure if I want people to find her. 

To be honest, she envies people, she hates when things doesn’t go her own way. She’s the most impatient person there is and most of the time she’s full of herself. In short, I don't like her, you probably won't too. She's a list of things that I don't like.

Society led me to believe that I should get rid of her because she is bad, that’s what I was taught in school. But growing up, she is as important as what I show to people. She is needed to balance things in my life. I am a person and I have layers that need to be unraveled and people just can’t pick part of themselves to get rid of and keep the ones they like. It doesn’t work that way. 

I might be lost in the dark or maybe I’m really hiding but I don’t wanna be found yet until I find myself first. So let me stay here for a little while, let me figure things out and maybe when time comes people don't need to find me anymore.


I'm tagging @zolabundance2 and @Pichi28 , to try this prompt too if you had the chance.

The rules are simple:

  1. Write about darkness

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have Fun!

Lead image: Photo by Lucas van Oort on Unsplash

11
$ 15.57
$ 14.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.15 from @Panky
+ 6
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

My tears fall as I am reading your article. All the words I can't utter, is already spoken with your article. At some point,I am you in this article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm the same. People come to me with their problems and I save them thousands of dollars by being their (unpaid) psychologist. When I tell people my issues, I also do it in such a way as if I have everything already figured out. I'm in the last half of my life, and, honestly, I haven't figured out anything. Or I have figured out everything, but can't do anything to change it. It's like gravity. I understand the concept. I've figured out that gravity is what sticks my feet to the ground. But I can't figure out how to float.

Great story. Thanks for digging deep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

WOW. You are so brave. And yes you are right. We are all fucked up inside. Right down to the fucking core. And again, you are right, fate has its own way of fuckin us from behind whenever it feels like it.

I feel weird, this is so dark but it's refreshing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uhmmm to be honest, this is somewhat still filtered 😅 As I still have barriers, I think speaking up would do more bad than good so I have retracted lots of things. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whaat?? Why? There's no censorship here. Let it all out. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Intellectually, I partly understand what you're going through, but I cannot truly imagine how difficult the struggle is simply because I'm not in your shoes.

I so admire you for willing yourself to move past this mountain of darkness and self-doubt that you are faced with and for trying to be strong for people that you care for and are responsible for despite what you're going through. And at such a young age...

I pray that such burden will eventually be lifted and that you can soon find even the tiniest of light that leads to a path that will ultimately free you from the shackles that bind you now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm actually a lot better now compared to before because I really can't talk about this if I'm not okay. It's just that it will never a linear process, there will really be days that you feel like you're back in day 1 and it sucks but I know things will get better slowly. Thank you for always say amazing words, it really helps me a lot and I appreciate it! <3

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Glad to help, even just a little. And here's hoping your recovery and transition to a better state comes sooner than later. Be strong...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why writing this out probably made you better, right? It is honestly surprising how we have partly the same struggles, though I don't experience as much as yours to the extent that I am undergoing therapies. But I know inside, there is a part of me broken, hidden, wants to be healed, but I am too afraid to release. I am becoming better now as I always try to recognize that something's wrong with me. Thank God, I still have reasons to be happy.

Stay strong, and know that you are not alone. I am also like that, a strong, role model figure to our family, as if I am not allowed to break, because of this image I have built. But we can do it, right? We can, of course. Don't be shy about getting therapies. You are doing the right thing. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awieeeee, I really know the struggle of that and I hope it gets better for you too. I appreciate your words. Thank you so much!!! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry to hear this story of yours. But I am thankful that you are brave enough to share it here. You did well. I really do not have something that I can say to help you, I am not sure if it will ever be. But I hope it will. You know what, it is okay to sometimes get lost, hide, and not be okay. But always remember that you are surrounded with people that could help you. Always remember that there is always a rainbow after the rain. I know I am not in a position to say this, but I hope you will be doing fine in the next days. Always pray. Pray to God. If you are tired, let Him know, He will help you carry your burden. I believe in you. You will make it. ☺️ I will be waiting for your other articles that will say you will are already fine. It may not be tomorrow or the next day, but I know time will come. ☺️ Stay safe as always. 💜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwww, I'm getting better I think but it's not always a linear process, there will always be days where I'll feel down but I'm sure to get back on my feet. It's just that the pandemic is really not doing me good. Take care too and stay safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing is, you acknowledged it yourself and that's the first step of recovery. I hope you get through all of it although this pandemic hit us hard so much. We just want this to be over 😞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it's really start to take a toll on everyone. I hope things get fixed soon :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

T_T @deedum! Can I sit with you in the dark?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, just bring fries, burgers and a milkshake!!!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago