In Isolation

14 36
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Last Friday, I was ecstatic about the weekend because last Monday, we had a wellness break. It’s a designated day where our company would be giving us a day off for the mental being of its employees. This made me so happy because we finally had a day off during these stressful times. Of course, being the “kaladkarin” girl that I am, I set up a plan with my friends. We were supposed to have lunch and catch up on how everyone was doing.

But again, life has a way of fucking with us, I had an asthma attack last Saturday morning. I was having difficulties breathing and had a dry cough. I was a bit concerned because of course, it has the same symptoms of a Covid case. 

I had to cancel the lunch date with friends and I immediately scheduled a check up. Fortunately, our HMO provides teleconsultation so I don’t need to physically go to a hospital. The consultation was quick, the doctor just asked me a few questions and having asthma is not new to me so we just wrapped up quickly. 

I was prescribed 4 types of medicine, including an antibiotic because the doctor thinks it was quite severe. I also had a new inhaler because I forgot what my last one was called. Hehe.

Then on Sunday night, I started having fever and muscle pain. I felt nausea at times too and my cough is just an uncontrollable mess. I tried to get a second opinion on what is happening to me and the doctor suggested that I have to visit a doctor as soon as I am able, a face to face consultation was needed for better diagnosis.

I visited yet another doctor and I was prescribed a bunch of medicines again. I was also advised to isolate myself just to be sure that I am not infecting anyone. And I just felt that the quarantine isn’t enough torture for my extrovert self, I needed to isolate myself even more. 

I was also asked to get a swab testing to make sure that this is not Covid-19. It's my second time having this and I'm pretty sure I'll never get used to having someone poke your brains out through your nose.

These are some of the things that I did to take care of myself when I’m in isolation:

INHALER IS THE KEY

Of course, if you had an asthma attack you should run for your inhaler, if there is one accessible to you. If not, nebulizers are also a must have. Most of the time, when I use my inhaler before things get worse, I save myself from all of the meds and a week of catching my breath.

DRINK YOUR WATER B****

Oh, I can’t emphasize this enough. That’s why water therapy is a thing, it really helps a lot in healing our body, not just with asthma but in most of the disease or sickness that we have. I always have water by my side even if I’m not sick so if I ever wake up in the middle of the night and get a bit lazy in fetching water, I wouldn’t have an excuse. 

SLEEP

Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

I just spend all day in bed and half of it, maybe 2/3 of my day sleeping. Well, honestly I don't have much to do because I don't much of energy either. So it's either watch a film or sleep and I haven't been having coffee for the longest time so maybe that's the reason I get sleepy all the time.

POUND THE ALARM

I don’t know if this would be a problem to you but it is for me, I always forget to drink medicine. Most of the time I need to physically see them all the time to remind myself that I need to take them on time. But I discovered a hack that always works and ever since I was using it, I never failed to take medicines on time. I set an alarm for each medicine that I have to take, I name the alarm after the designated medicine for that time and it works wonders!

MOVIES

I’ve been watching a bunch of movies and series lately, my recent ones were Cruella and Sightless, both are highly recommended. I’ve been thinking of watching a horror film like Wrong Turn or maybe some RomCom from Adam Sandlers. I also watched a bunch of tiktok videos and a bit of The Big Bang Theory.


I’m just a bit sad because I didn’t celebrate my wellness long weekend the way that I originally planned to, but maybe this is a sign of really just taking rest. I’m really not in a great condition lately and the mental strain that I’m going through is really affecting me physically. 

I need to take care of myself better. 

Lead image: Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash



7
$ 10.03
$ 9.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
+ 3
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Woiii, pagaling ikaw. Ako din dati mas malala pa ata dito kasi yong dibdib ko pag imuubo ako feeling ko madadala na aguy. Warm water na may asin lang talaga sakin, may gamot din naman kaso minsan diko tinitakr. Ayaw ko talagamg iinom ng gamot ee. Basta pagaling ikaw bata 💪💪🎂🤡🌶️👺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes ate, dami nga po nagkkasakit lately 😭😭😭😭😭 Ingat din po kayo. Thank you po 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, minsan kasi gawa lang din ng pabago bagong panahon 😖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take proper rest! Yes, I am sure you deserve it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, take care too! 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon. And take rest. Give time to your own this time.this will help to keep you fit and fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, thank you so much 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well deedum!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I’m recovering nowww 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey! Get well soon Stella, you'll be fine. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po ateeee! 💖 Slowly getting better na po 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, that's why you've been MIA! The wellness break just gave you a signal that your body needs some TLC. Sleep is good. But rest your mind, too, because everything starts there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I completely can’t do anything for days 😭 I filed a two weeks leave so hopefully that can clear my mind and I can root myself again 💖

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Praying for you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago