I got my first vaccine shot!

14 34
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Today, I made another impulsive decision: I got vaccinated.

I’ve been planning and wanting to have one since it started rolling out. I’m actually waiting for our company to provide it, but it was said to us that it might take up until December before we have one and they’re encouraging us to utilize the ones that the Local Government Unit (LGU) is rolling out. 

My sister was supposed to be the only one who was about to have it but she needed company because apparently, she’s scared of needles. My mom told me to accompany her and I decided to have one for myself too. 

There are actually a lot of vaccination sites that allow walk-ins, just like what we did. And if you want one, they are currently rolling out in A4, which provides vaccines to employees. You just need a company ID or any proof of employment. Proof of employment can be a letter for those housekeepers or personal drivers, just proof that you are working if you don't have company ID.

Photo by Mufid Majnun on Unsplash

Though, I’m not forcing anyone to get vaccinated, I’m just sharing my experience and sharing what I know to those who want it. 

We were told that we were supposed to have Astrazeneca ones but it ran out in our turn and they had to switch to Sinovac, which was also WHO approved. Plus, I trust my sister because she is a chemist and if she’d have something on her body, I think I’ll be fine. 

WHY?

Many would ask why I took the vaccine or why I even planned on getting one?

  • Work - as most of you know fieldwork is an integral part of my work and I would need to travel to different places, getting vaccinated can lessen the admin work we have to go through when we travel, like swab test and quarantine. Just present a vaccination pass and poof! You can enter any part of the country and most of the time, quarantine is not required anymore.

  • Travel - related to work or personal ones, it is most likely that travelling all over the world will require vaccinations, it’s a foreseeable event. It's slowly happening but it wouldn't really surprise me if embassies requires vaccinations proof.

  • Safety - As my sister said this had gone through clinical trials so I don’t think it would put anyone else in danger. The main reason of getting it is to protect my loved ones, especially that fieldwork might resume more this year and I don’t want to expose myself, then expose my family to the virus. 

SYMPTOMS?

Did I turn into a titan/zombie yet?

As you can see, I got my vaccine around 3pm and I’m here writing this one out. 

  • Injection site pain - I think this would be the most evident one, even with flu virus vaccine, I experience this. So it’s not much concerning.

  • Chest pain - this is the part where I get a bit concerned but I’m in constant communication with my Doctor and she says that it’s fine. It’s still on a very tolerable level, I don’t even feel the urge of taking medications for it but it’s there. 

  • Shortness of breath - this is also a bit concerning but again I was reassured that as long as it’s at a tolerable level, it’s fine. It’s not severe. I was actually singing earlier. That's why I noticed a bit of shortness in my breath because I was supposed to make a cover today. I ended up not uploading because I was breathing a bit weird in that cover.

I was told that each body is unique and we have a unique immune system that’s why different side effects can be noticed. I think that should be put out there, because for me I didn’t have a fever, yet (?) and no headaches which were the usual ones. 


Again, I’m not pushing anyone to take a vaccine, it’s your own personal choice. I just wanted to share mine to help those who wants to have them. The best thing to do is be aware of the announcements of your LGUs for possible vaccine roll-outs. 

Most importantly, stay safe. If you have questions, I would gladly go through them.

See you around!

Photo by Hakan Nural on Unsplash


9
$ 8.45
$ 8.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 3
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Nice post! Happy you got the vaccine and hopefully you will be well again soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello my dear friend, thank you for making this publication and telling us about your experience.

I find it incredible how easy it is to get vaccinated in the country where you are, I agree with you in all the aspects you mention, today getting vaccinated should not be a choice but a necessity, and not only for us, but for those around us, we need to return to normality, and being vaccinated we will be walking to that process, to return to what we were before, I am very glad that the health authorities of your country take vaccination seriously and are so flexible with workers, somehow you are the most exposed.

I do not understand how there are people who have this great opportunity and do not take advantage of it, I wish I could get vaccinated with my parents, in my country the vaccines became a political process, they are in charge of calling who gets vaccinated and who does not, and of course you need to belong to a political party, unfortunately it is a sad reality, I hope the symptoms pass quickly, and tomorrow you feel better, take care of yourself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That’s so sad to hear, but some people are also selling slots for vaccinations here which is messed up because it was supposed to be given freely to everyone.

I wish the best for your vaccinations too, hopefully you get some for yourself too. Take care too, especially if you aren’t vaccinated yet 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, to be honest, nagsesecond thoughts pa din ako in being vaccinated. What a brave decision sis. Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh, coz I’m surrounded with doctors and scientists kaya siguro na-encourage din ako, like my ate and my friends.

Just do a bit of research, maybe it will help you for your decision and if you have questions, just feel free to ask. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got my own shot few weeks ago too but I felt sick a day after hahaha. The spot ached, I felt weak and sick with headache too but I was told it is normal and after a day or two, I was back to my usual self.

Yes, I learnt you might require it if you intend travelling out of the country so as good as it is that we got it for safety, it is also good in that other regard too.

Try and rest a bit too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, that’s great to hearrrr!! I’m a but sick yesterday but I feel a bit better now.

Yeah, health is not the only factor for it, there’s really a lot of layer for it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. I am glad you feel better dear. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Or the chest pain and shortness of breath might be the acid reflux of yours

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

Might beeeeeee 😣 Yung chest pain ko galing sa hindi pagkain ng pizza 🥺😣 di ka kasi namigay 😣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OnO sama ng loob pala yunn sorryy🙏

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

i got my first shot, too today! Yay! Sinovac too. What i did feel is... sleepiness. Like real sleepiness. I am actually just on the last energy bars of my energy replying just so when i lie down i sleep through.

Praying we all be well !!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh. I was a bit sleepy too but right now I’m working 😂😂😂😂 It might be weird 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahhaha night shift? oh well so yes sleepiness is part no? stay safe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago