Human Library

13 39
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Let’s admit, not everyone is fond of reading, but what if I tell you that you can talk to a book?

Yes, you heard it right!

As I was browsing on Twitter, I came across a non-profit organization called Human Library. Their head office is based in Copperhagen, Denmark and upon doing a bit of a research, I found what they are all about.

Source: https://humanlibrary.org/

A Human Library consists of “books” that are human. Each of these books volunteer to take part in the library and share their story. Readers can check out books for a 20-minute period, during which time readers and books have a one-on-one conversation.

Source

As a person, who likes talking, well sometimes a bit too much, I feel like I wanted to participate in this kind of initiative. I wanted to loan myself as a book to a human library and have my own “reading session”. Reading session is the time when you borrow a book - a person for a specified time, it usually ranges from 20 mins to an hour.

As my curiosity was awakened by this thought, I did some research about them to hopefully see the qualifications of being a book and the places where I can loan myself even just for a day.

I came across their official website and everyone can register as a book there. I haven’t tried to because I don’t think I’ll have the time for it but if you want to, go ahead and feel free to tell me your experience. 

I think if you register it will redirect you to a human library close to your address. Currently they are operational in 6 continents and 80 countries, which really amazed me because I really haven’t heard much about it. 

WHAT IS THE HUMAN LIBRARY?

The Human Library® is a global innovative and hands-on learning platform. We are embedded in high school to higher learning, medical training to civic engagement to better our understanding of diversity in order to help create more inclusive and cohesive communities across cultural, religious, social and ethnic differences.

Source

As I read further, I was brought to an article saying that they have already partnered with some schools in the Philippines!

The first one was with De La Salle University which happened last August 14, 2014. Ten volunteers representing different types of prejudices served as living books and were tagged as:

  1.  The Unbearable Lightness of Being Me by Maria Vanessa Medina (lightweight)

  2. Pride vs. Prejudice: Making the World More LGBT-Friendly by Eric Julian Manalastas (Gay)

  3. Proud Tibo, Proud Nanay by Ma. Luisa Toribio (Lesbian)

  4. The Tattoo Artist by Alfred K. Guevara (Tattooed)

  5. Heavily Fluffy But Happy by Adolf Rey Duquez (Obese)

  6. Mga Karanasan ng Isang Bading by Ron de Vera (Gay)

  7. Geographies of Gender by Mylene De Guzman (Lesbian)

  8. Let Me Be by Ruth Mae Nichole Taduran (Teenage Mom)

  9. Babaylan by Gabriel “Heart” Diño (Transgender)

  10. Lola Monching by Ramon O. Ramos (Tattoed).

Source

This was followed by the University of the Philippines which held its own Human Library experience too last April 22-26, 2019. 

A lot of people gave positive feedback to their “reading session” and I think more and more organizations and schools will adapt this but due to Covid-19, a lot of restrictions have been imposed and maybe have an impact on this. 

But a thought kept boggling my mind, If I were given a library card and I'm allowed to borrow a book, who am I gonna choose?

Here are some that crosses my mind: 

  1. Philippine President - Rodrigo Duterte - not much to say, just wanted to ask what’s his plan for our country or check if he has one...

  2. Ed Sheeran - I wanna know how he was able to write such amazing songs and what are his struggles along the way. I’m also gonna ask for a picture, signature, song and some spoilers as to what his next album gonna be, is it gonna be minus or subtract?

  3. My best friend - it’s been almost 5 years since we last met, even though we talked a lot and caught up with each other, I just want to see her and maybe being a book, I’d get the chance to.

  4. A mafia Leader - I don't know why but I just think it would be amazing to know how they do it and what do they really do

  5. An advocate of anything - I think sitting down and listening to someone talk about the things they are passionate about would really be a great experience.

I do hope that one day I’d get the chance to visit a human library or even better be a book and share my story to someone else. I don't know what title would I give myself honestly and what prejudice I have with myself but I really, really want to be a book!

I always dreamt of writing a book but I think I'm not for it because my mind wanders from time to time and I personally think I'm not built for it. But learning that I can be a book by talking... now, that's a more interesting thing for me.

I can’t wait for this day to come, this will definitely be added to my bucket list!

See you around! 

Lead Image: Photo by Shravankumar Hiregoudar on Unsplash




11
$ 8.90
$ 8.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 1
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you so much for sharing this. This is really a big help for a newbie like me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a great fact!!! thanks for sharing this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh, great! Thanks for dropping by too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. This is a first time hearing about this! So interesting. I never thought something like this would be possible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn’t think it was possible din po 🤣😂 pero sana po magkaroon po ulit sa ph!!!! ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so cool! So you borrow a human book and have 20 minutes to talk to that person, or discuss an actual book with them? Because you put book titles alongside the names in the Philippine setting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The person is the book po, so a reading session is a person telling his/her life story. You can choose a title for your life but mainly pinipili po nila yung mga naka-experience ng prejudices in the society

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice article! And this is an interesting read. I never heard of this before, well I did, but it's about another idea. This concept is really cool. I imagine a lot of books (people) with so much story to tell. This is amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really would love to go someday but due to covid, I think it would still be a long time before it happens 😭😭😭 I got really curious about it too 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I really think that we will be waiting a long time to be able to enjoy some things again. Unless we're not scared at all. But I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing. Hindi rin ako mahilig magbasa masyado so magandang idea ata to ah.. hahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opooo, sana nga po may mag-open po ulit sa ph! I want to try po 😬😬😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago