Hard pills to swallow

16 25
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

I have only been in this world for 2 decades and 2 years. Most would say I’m still quite young and still have much to go but if you know me personally, you would also say that I don’t act my age. I think it’s with my environment, the people I deal with, my friends, the way I was raised and many more factors but I can say that I did mature earlier than most people my age. 

I’m only 22 but I work a full-time corporate job, support my family, send my sisters to school, slowly trying to build my own empire and along all of it I’m still transitioning from my teenage years to adulthood. It’s been a rollercoaster ride but without all of this I wouldn’t become the person I am today. 

I sometimes feel like an outcast with people my age because I think differently from them. Many would call me "tita" because of how I usually handle things. It's both a curse and a blessing to be honest.

After all of those experiences, here are some of the hard pills I had to swallow when I entered adulthood.

Set boundaries for yourself

When you’re going to your first job or meeting new friends, no matter how kind you are, there are really a lot of people that would test the hell out of you. Like for me, I wasn’t raised to be rude and I always choose kindness and compromise but be weary because people do take advantage of you. Setting boundaries by limiting interaction with toxic people, declining a task that wasn't supposed to be passed to you in the first place. 

This is harder than most people would think because again kindness goes a long way and the line would always seem so blurry with how much you can still tolerate them and when you need to stop because you are starting to get abused.

Know what you want then communicate it.

When we were a child, we just cried and our parents knew what to do. As a teenager, when  we had friends and if we were pissed, we'd just shut ourselves down and let them figure out what’s wrong. We're so used to that kind of pattern but when we enter the adult world, things are totally on the downside.

In the adult world, if something is wrong you say it, no one would really have the time to think about what’s going on in your head because the truth is each individual already has something in their minds. 

This is a big transition for me and I’m still having a hard time practicing this because when I am asked what do I want? We’re still at a point that I’ll get a bit shy and would need insisting but hopefully I get passed that phase.

Watching your diet. 

Diet is not only the things you eat, it’s the books you read, movies you watch and the people you interact with. As we grow older, we tend to be more selective and more decisive, not all the time, but I feel like we have a sense of identity and value for ourselves. Because of this our friends become smaller, the books we read are within our interest and the likes. As you grow older, you tend to do your own thing instead of following trends. 

Work is just work.

I think it’s embedded in our culture to do work diligently which is a thing I’m really proud of but because of this, most of the time we get exploited. Work is just supposed to be work, don’t take it way too seriously and don’t ever attach your self-worth to it. 

As much as we all want to do a great job at work and produce quality outputs, it’s still just work. We don’t have to sacrifice our health for it, this is a hard thing to do for me because I always strive to do my best in everything that I do but I just realized that work is just work and nothing more. 


I know I have a lot more to learn in the coming years and I am still learning all of these too. But again all of this are easier said than done. We know most of it but we never really quite learn it until we are in a position where we can't do anything but learn it.

See you around!


Lead image: Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

9
$ 3.26
$ 3.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 1
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I wonder what it feels like being with someone like you? Baka marami akong matutunan. Hahaha. I learned a lot from this anyway. Adulting 101.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhmmmm, mahirap din maging ako honestly 🤣🤣🤣🤣

But so glad you learned a lot 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Pero kinakaya mo. Galing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not surprised you are way more matured than your age because I noticed that about Hanzell too. You both think differently from the average human and I love engaging with people like you and her.

The one that struck me most is when people hold so much in and expect you to figure out what's wrong. Except someone needs a magic wand that would reveal all that is going on in another person's mind, no one would know unless we communicate it and if we choose not to communicate it then we should learn go move past it and let it go.

A lot of people find it so hard to communicate how they feel and maybe they feel it would escalate or they can't handle knowing they were wrong or whatever it is, I feel speaking up throws more light into things as you have rightly said.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, me and my sister really thinks differently probably because we’ve been exposed to different nationalities. Like we have family members in the US and Ph, so our culture is a bit of a mix of both.

But as much as we can say communication is the key to everything, it’s really hard to say things and it requires great courage and lots of practice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a massive help and I still credit both of you still. The desire is always there and that's great.

No doubt, it requires a great courage to speak and to express.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2 decades and 2 years and i like the way you think!

act my age --> funny I've been musing about this one lately. The opposite of your ordeal though, when people start to know my age, they get confused! hahahah. No fretting on this one.. so far I really haven't met anyone who has "acted their age".. nor has anyone really handed me a solid road map on how one's age is supposed to be acted out. :)

"As you grow older, you tend to do your own thing instead of following trends." -- agree!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That makes sense. If you look at it you can never really act your age because there’s really no standard for it! It’s a great insight! ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Crazy as it may sound, I have a ready argument once someone tells me to act my age.. .Rebutt with "Oh, show me .. quick!" But of course depending on who is saying it, the tone has to be "with care" hahaha.

Anyways, take it a bit easy on yourself. You are doing fine. ;) Just as there is no real roadmap in growing up, living life is a bit the same. I also learned to weigh all my "dapat" along the way. Take care of your heart , dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwiiiieeee, I needed this right now. I really feel down lately and I'm a bit confused and lost. I was actually about to post an article of how I'm feeling but I don't really want to add to all the negativities out there and sometimes I force myself to write articles with value. I just feel like I'm really being hard on myself. Thank youuu. Take care too!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diko nga maabot minsan ang isip mo. Masyado kang malalim at masyadong matured talaga mag isip, pakihawaan nga ako ng maturity. Isip bata pa kasi ako kahit matanda na 😩.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang po yan ateeee, minsan nga gusto ko din po ng ganung mentality eh 😣 gusto ko na alisin mga iniisip ko 😭😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bat kasi ang daming tumatakbo na thought sa isip mo, ayaw ko ata ng ganyan. Masakit sa ulo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Circumstances do tend to make people mature faster, and environment, too. And as much as you want to show the world that you are a professional and taken seriously, don't forget to keep that inner child in you, if only for yourself to be able to deal with all the B.S. out there in this world.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That’s what I really missed out that I’m still a child 😭 I often forget to enjoy everything. I was actually about to write all about it after this because I’m just recently trying to learn that too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Then go for it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago