Ask to Unmask

0 26
Avatar for dauntless_marquess
2 years ago

"The only true wisdom, is in knowing you know nothing." — Socrates

As the world is too complex to contemplate, we humans are bound to seek truth as we thirst of knowledge for the sake of our own chest of learnings. But those learnings will not only quench your thirst, it can also be a candle to light one's path to reach the destination where truth lies for them to be a tougher and better person. With that, Socrates' way of linking true wisdom is so reliable for my own experience wherein I could say that I was able to make myself to be that certain candlelight, as I tried to unravel truth from opinions through using socratic method to mend two persons whom both are close to my heart and break the chasm between them.

I can still remember with my clear as a crystal memory, that was way back in my highschool years when I have these two friends of mine and which I found out to be not in good terms as they both told me their grudges with each other. That day, I felt something like a heavy thing plunged in my heart, cause who would not be? They were both close to me yet they are now treating themselves as rivals. Seems like I am walking in a thin ice that moment cause I did not know which side I should acknowledge or how could I help to fix their dilemma. But then, I realized that since they are my friends I should guide their hearts full of hatred with each other.

As they began sharing their thoughts about them to me, I also asked lots of questions in order for me to englighten, cause of course we should not judge quickly the book that we have not even got the chance to read, and then arrive in the truth since their statements did not certainly coincide from their own point of view. Their ideas actually oppposed with each other and their words were just circulating while being futile. In such case, I could percieve that one of them might just making up some stories but I also made up my mind that I will not take sides, I want to mend the situation for that is the best thing to do.

So I did use Socrates' method for attaining true wisdom, in order to aid the situation and for the reconciliation of my two friends in whom I am sincerely concerned with. By that means, I was able to know the real situation they are into and what really happened. Also, I detected that one of them was really just making up stories to me the reason why the whole scenario became vague to me at first. Nevertheless, I m happy that I had helped my friends back the closeness we shared together though it was not that actually easy. They thanked me as well, for listening to them and being wise to handle the information they had imparted towards me for they admitted that they learned something out from the circumstance they were in.

In a nutshell, in order for us to know the truth, you should act like you know nothing as Socrates articulated. That quote strucked my mind as I have comprehended it, it is truly certain that it can not be only applied in this case but in every aspects of our lives. It indeed helps me to grow and widen my vision in this life full of intricacies. In the same way, if life gets tough and you are in the crossroad of anxiety and confusions, one of the effective ways to overcome it is to posses the true wisdom. And that is knowing you know nothing.

Image Source: https://devaproject.com/the-only-true-wisdom-is-in-knowing-you-know-nothing/

5
$ 2.80
$ 2.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Unity
$ 0.01 from @lonestranger
Avatar for dauntless_marquess
2 years ago

Comments