Gonna have to fake it...

2 21
Avatar for dansontela
1 year ago

Well, that didn't go quite as expected.

We drove two hours each way to pick up a secondhand lamp, with the plan to spend a couple hours playing somewhere with Smallsteps after lunch - but lunch took over three hours! When we first ordered they said the kitchen would take 45 minutes - but it ended up being almost two hours just to get our meal - which feels like four hours with a hungry child and an annoyed wife.

And, this was a burger joint.

This meant that instead of doing anything at all whilst there, we essentially drove, ate lunch (finally) picked up the lamp and drove home. As you can imagine, Smallsteps was pretty thrilled, however, we were pretty impressed at the way she handled it all and before starting to drive back, we found a toy store and picked her up a little thank you gift for her patience.

We don't normally get her presents for behaving well, but it is also her "name day" coming up and we haven't really celebrated it before, so this year we are making an effort. Also, I think it isn't bad to occasionally have surprise gifts for these kinds of things, as long as they don't become the expected result of good behavior, as we don't want her to act well for the gift itself.

I think I should get a gift.

No such luck.

Driving was pretty hard today and I was falling asleep along the way, no matter how much coffee I was drinking. I think it is because I am still feeling the effects of having the flu recently and sleep hasn't been of the highest quality. Also, I don't think I have been driving that much over the last few years, especially any kind of distance. I used to drive a few thousand kilometers a month for work, plus personal - but now it is like I barely need a car. "Barely" is a large exaggeration. But, since my wife is also feeling ill, I assume it is actually just that we are still recovering.

I just realized I don't have a picture of the lamp....

Next time.

My memory isn't great at the best of times, it is worse at the moment. My motivation isn't very high either! And I have been feeling it at work. But, I am guessing that most people aren't that motivated at work normally anyway, so I probably just blend into the crowd.

I am not a very good sick person.

So, starting tomorrow, I am going to have to have a bit of an attitude adjustment and be a better sick person. Instead of feeling like crap, I will pretend I feel great and get out in the garden and mow the lawn for the first time this year - which it badly needs. They say that attitude is everything so perhaps I can "fake it til I make it" into a healthy, sunny disposition.

What are the chances?

Have you ever tried to change your mood just by faking it? I have and it can work, but it takes a bit of commitment and a fair bit of avoidance, depending on how "in the funk" I happen to be at the time. However stick with it and it is possible to *turn a frown upside down...

Or at least sideways.

Sideways frowning sounds a bit rude.

But as normal, just spending some time writing has helped improve my feelings already and it likely shows a little toward the end, as I feel I am starting to get my humor back.

Perhaps I should wake my wife up and tell her some jokes.

I am sure she'd be happy to know I am on the mend.

She knows all about faking it!

3
$ 0.04
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.01 from @DanLawan
Avatar for dansontela
1 year ago

Comments

Always good to read something well-written even if sometimes, it is a rant. hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sickness is not easy to battles with, it eats up your whole body and what you need at the time is a really strong spirit. Wish you good health man.

$ 0.00
1 year ago