My greatest mistake

1 16
Avatar for dandyb
Written by
3 years ago

The incident which led me to my downfall occurred on the 15th of may 1998.

My name is Jeffrey. I met my old school friends Bob, dan and jerry. When I was on my way to the shop where I worked as a sales boy and also assist my mom and the family to put food on the table, as the bread winner of the house. My dad was late, been the first son of the family, I have now taken responsibilities in everything. Paying of house bills, my younger siblings school fees are now on me. I support my mom as well in her petty trade.

My younger siblings we're chased from school and then I didn't have any money on me. My madam hasn't paid me for 2 months due to we no longer receive customers like before and the market income has reduced. I was badly in need of money to sort out my problems. My friends we're all glittering, they weren't looking bad at all. Nice outfits with fine car. I was excited seeing them once again, and as well glad that my problems could be solved through them. They took me to a nearby hotel close to the road. And we were served what we ordered for, and I explained all that I have been passing through since I lost my dad. I told them that I also want to make money like them.

They pitied me and I was told that they were into armed robbery, and me going with them on my first operation, that I will be given #500, 000 on hearing such amount of money. I didn't hesitate to accept their offer, knowing fully well that it will save me from all my problems. I asked when the operation will be carried out and it now happened to that night.

We planned well before going to the place where we would carry out our operation. When we got to the place, everywhere was silent, the night guard has fallen asleep when we sneaked in into the chief house. We took all his money and jewelries away. I was told to shoot the house maid for Been a first timer in such operation and for me to have the mind to kill as a fully trained armed robber. I did as I was told on getting outside, we were blocked by police men and we attacked ourselves with gun. Three of my friends were shot dead remaining only me. There was no other option for me than giving up. I was caught and charged to court. I was sentenced to 10 years imprisonment with hard labour. And now I made the greatest mistake of my life.

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of dandyb
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for dandyb
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I'm happy that you're alive to tell the story. Showing remorse and repenting from past mistakes is a way forward. I guest you are writing from the prison. Don't worry, everything is gonna be fine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is nice of you to share your life story with us. I believe you are sharing this so that another person would not make a mistake like you did.

As one of the moderators to Introduce Yourself community, I would like to suggest that you use Grammarly or Word Counter to make your articles looks better with grammar check and punctuation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I give you a thumbs-up because you made time to write. The first time you mentioned your father it wasn't clear to me what happened to him.

I can not approve this as an introduction post because it's not. The question is which community you could join if you like to join one at all.

If you write more episodes you can join the Community Diaries (add a date to each part), otherwise it might be something for some community with (life) stories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago