Tres Marias

15 29

My sisters and I are often called "tres Marias." I have 2 siblings, I am the eldest, next to me is Kathy and our youngest is Kate. We are all girls, hence, "tres Marias. "

We were raised by our granny. At a young age, our parents separate ways. It was hard for us to cope with the situation, especially our youngest. She is the closest one to our mother. I often heard her crying in the middle of the night, looking for her. In my young mind, hatred for my mother has thrived. I used to get mad at my youngest sister, when she was crying looking for my mother, telling her that she will never come back. But deep inside, I was crying hard. Asking, why she had to leave us? I don't want my sisters to see me crying, I had to be strong for them.

At the age of 8, my Lolo and Lola decided to transfer to Manila. I was left behind together with my 2 titos and my tita Ging because we were all studying at that time. My Lola brought my sisters with her. I was always left alone in the house, my tita Ging was in college while my 2 titos were in high school and I was grade 2 back then. Most of the time, they come home late. So I had to do all the chores. At that age, I had learned to cook, do the laundry, and clean the entire house.

When summer vacation has come, we all went to Manila. It was 3 days and 2 nights travel on a ship, from Davao to Manila. I was so excited to see my sisters. I had wished that our travel won't take that long so that I could see my sister already. When we arrived in Manila, my Lola and Tito Bong was already there, patiently waiting for us for 2 hours. I remember my Lola told me that my sisters were so excited to see me.

It was lunchtime when we arrived at the house. I immediately hugged my sister. They were all very happy to see me. Since then we became inseparable. They introduce me to their playmates. We almost do things together.

When the school year starts, we were enrolled by our Lola, I was in grade 3, Katy was in grade 1, and Kate was kinder.

This photo was taken on the first day of school.

We always had our lunch together in my classroom because Katy's teacher won't allow us to have our lunch in their room. We were fetched to and from school by our Tito Toto until I graduated from grade 6.

While growing up, we had our different interests, hobbies, likes, and dislikes that made us apart. Although the bond between sisters is still there. After high school, I decided to leave the house, at that time my Lola had passed away. I tried to become independent. I look for a job, any kind of job, a decent job. I became a service crew in a fast-food chain, I became a nanny, saleslady. Anything that would make me earn money. Then I would send some to my sisters.

Fast forward

Now that we had a family of our own, we seldom see each other. I was here in Capiz, Katy was in Bataan and Kate was in Philippine Air force. I forgot to tell you that our youngest graduated from the Philippine Air force. Both of them were separated from their first husband but got a new one. I always talked with Katy almost every day. Kate was always busy that we hardly talked to her. Our last reunion was in 2018. We were so happy at that moment. We really enjoyed our time together. We seldom see so we made sure that each moment count.

Me, Katy, and Kate

It's a nice feeling that you have a sister to count on. We may have our differences, but hey, a sister is a sister. Blood is thicker than water. I miss you, sissies!😘😘😘

*photos are all mine*

8
$ 0.49
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @esciisc
$ 0.05 from @TheDINO
Sponsors of damelindz
empty
empty
empty

Comments

This good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

so nice to see a loving family 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for the compliment TheDino

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice to meet with everyone. Happy family. God bless everyone. May happy with each other, stay happy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tjank you sajib. Hope for you to be happy too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thabk you so much too!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was so interesting to read about new siblings and the culture

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice. I'm envious to see how well you get along with your sisters. I have 4 more sisters and I'm the eldest too, but the third one is a pain in the ass, she doesn't respect anyone.

Anyways it's seems to me that the one in the middle is the eldest and not you 😅 Or is it just me who sees it that way?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha, well thank you, for me its a compliment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hihi you're welcome 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really nice to go down our memory lane from time to time. Nice story telling btw. And you guys don't look alike, you look like friends instead of sisters 😅

I remember that tres marias thingy, I had two friends in high school too, we were together all the time and we work as 'one', so our classmate also call us tres marias.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha, sabi nga nila di kami mgkakamukha. Ako lang yun maitim samin, un 2 mapuputi.

Btw, thanks for the tip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganun din naman kaming magkakapatid. 6 kami, 3 maputi tapos 3 maiitim haha. Kami kasing 3 nakuha yung kulay ng spanish roots while yung iba naman ang nanalaytay ay ang sa Aeta roots 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako naman nakuha ko yun complexion ko sa father ko, pati height. Tpos yun mga kapatid ko sa mama ko na..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Talaga? Kami kasi instead na sa parents magmana, sa grandparents or great grandparents. Yung second sister ko nga kamukhang kamukha nung great grandmom namin sa father side, yung isa naman kahawig ng lola namin. Wala saming nagmana talaga sa parents 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago