Desire to be recognized by others

4 57
Avatar for daffaputra
2 years ago

Two days ago, I met a friend from high school. He has a desire to continue learning to the highest level. It was a very cloudy day and it was going to rain soon. He greeted me while I was waiting for intercity transportation in front of his office. "Hey Daffa, where are you going? Stop by my office first," he said.

I didn't expect to meet Ardi by chance here. When he entered his office, it was raining very hard. So, I decided to wait for the rain to stop in my friend's study. Just as I sat down, Ardi immediately spoke up and said, "I have completed my master's degree on time, even the test scores that I got were all A, I became the best graduate in the university, the thesis that I wrote deserves to be written down, are you interested? to read it?” a proud aura with every word left his mouth.

I just smile. Then he talked about himself again “next week I will go abroad to prepare my doctoral proposal” he said. Again, Ardi underlined the reason why he is very special and very important to be in the international community. Ardi feels that he deserves to be part of the scientific community. Sometimes Ardi likes to quote sentences from books he has read.

Honestly, I don't feel happy with conversations like this, but because I respect Ardi as my friend, I persevered and listened to Ardi's words, who always prided himself in front of me while waiting for the rain to stop. It seems that Ardi needs someone who can show off his success and give recognition to Ardi.

I felt disgusted and annoyed when the topic of conversation was directed to me, he said "Your writing is not widely read huh? In my opinion, the sentences you write lack style, sometimes your arguments in this paper are not structured with strong logic." There are still long sentences directed at me. In essence, my writing is not as good as Ardi's. He felt that he was far above me.

Although I was a little annoyed by his words, it seemed that Ardi did not need a response or defense from me. I didn't expect words like what Ardi said, but Ardi's words didn't make me feel down and discouraged.

“Ardi, every writing I write will find its destiny. Every article I write will be tried by readers, some of my writings will be executed, and some will go to museums. Hahaha... The museum I'm referring to is a library with a lot of books piled up on the bookshelf, drowning among the many books. I hope my writing is read for sure bro” I said with a smile.

The situation outside Ardi's office was still raining, the clock was already showing 05.30 pm. Ardi made two cups of coffee for us to enjoy. "Thank you Ardi," I said. Then Ardi offered me to add sugar, but I chose to enjoy coffee without sugar.

While sipping Ardi's coffee, he continued to talk show-off about his outstanding academic achievements. Indeed, I have to admit that Ardi deserves “with discrimination” as a predicate. Many of my friends say that Ardi is very smart in academics. Many of the meetings that Ardi attends are opportunities to show his stardom in academic achievement.

"Hey Daffa, in the next few years, you will see me again as a doctor" With a smile he said that to me. Smiling too, I confirmed his prediction. I believe with all my heart that Ardi can take the academic journey to become a doctor, even the position of professor can easily be achieved. Ardi missed a title like that.

The rain finally stopped, the Maghrib call to prayer had sounded. I said goodbye to Ardi after finishing the coffee which was no longer hot. The online motorcycle taxi driver was waiting for me in front of the office, so I didn't take the intercity transportation because the sky was almost dark. From everything Ardi said to me, I remembered a title in a magazine I had read 12 years ago “Vanitas vanitatum mundi!” namely the story of Marlyn Monroe who became stressed due to the pressure of the entertainment industry which forced her to continue to be a shining star. In her stardom, Marlyn Monroe lost herself, Marlyn felt a sense of futility and a sad emptiness despite being a star.

But sometimes other people always have the desire to be a star, even a sun that gets recognition from the whole galaxy, be it with wealth, intelligence, generosity, and also with deceit.

The lead image source by Unsplash

6
$ 9.78
$ 9.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Luna1999
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
+ 1
Avatar for daffaputra
2 years ago

Comments

This is full of wisdom. I was amazed on how you end it with a powerful ending like that. Truly, there is always a person who does not want to be just a star, but the brightest star. They don't want to be outshined by others. And if I am on the same situation, I would just listen to Ardi because no matter how high his pride is, and no matter how excellent he is, I believe that there will also be a time for me to shine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray that you will become a shining star, be successful and be able to reach your goals. Keep learning and focus on your future goals. Regards

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like your friend is very annoying. I really get annoyed when someone is always proud of himself. In psychology, it is called narcissistic personality disorder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, my friend has a narcissistic disorder, but everything he says really does come true. My friend does have big hopes and goals in life. He always tries to reach his goals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago