It's a VAW day

9 42
Avatar for dLifeWanderer
2 years ago

A Day in the Life of a Social Worker

"Kung ako lang po, gusto ko maayos pa namin, para lamang sa mga bata" (For me, I wanted this to be fixed, for the sake of the children)

Those were the words of the husband when asked if they still wanted to save their relationship. After some time of listening to each other's side, at least there is still hope that their relationship will be restored. I felt bad though when the wife expressed that she is already tired and feels threatened every time she sees her husband drunk. But still, we don't want children to grow with only one parent raising them. We all want children to have a complete family, a family that loves and respects each other; hence, intervention for

VAW - refers to Violence Against Women

Morning

The moment I turned on my computer when I arrived at the office, a police officer came referring a client who was physically abused by her husband. Since my companions are not yet in, I have entertained them. The client is not residing under my area of jurisdiction. Still, did an initial interview with the client and gave her time to rest while waiting for my co-social worker to endorse her case.

After endorsing, I already went to the barangay where we have scheduled dialogue. The dialogue was between a couple who did have a fight and misunderstanding. I am thankful for the presence of the punong barangay and kagawad who assisted me during the dialogue.

I'm not a new social worker, but this was the only time I was exposed to handling different cases since for the previous years I have been dealing with coordination, paperwork including reports and statistics, conducting city-wide activities, and the like. The need for me to ask for help or rescue from my officemates.

Lunch

The time I came back to the office, our officemate was also having a dialogue with another VAW case.

While we are having our lunch break, distressing about our morning clients, our two companions were also sharing their experiences of being a VAW victim.

Afternoon

I was invited to talk about Gender Sensitivity and Violence Against Women and their Children (VAWC) in one barangay. Emphasis of my discussion focused on the salient features of the RA 9262 or the Anti-violence Against Women and their Children.

Today's really about Violence Against Women. How I wish such day won't happen again... How I wish women will not be coming reporting that they experienced abuse from their partner... How I wish there will be no violence against women and their children happening.., but for now, all we can do is wish at the same time be an advocate women empowerment and gender equity in our own simple ways...

Lead Image: Yellow tote bag. This has been my to go bag when I go on field which usually contains files, ballpen, umbrella, wallet, tissue and alcohol. This is easier to carry while walking up and down the road, streets and steps.

‐---------------------------

Hi!

I'm Dolor

- not a writer nor a blogger just a life wanderer who wanted to share travels, experiences, and learnings 😘

- hope you can join me wandering next time 😉

Sponsors of dLifeWanderer
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.02 from @iamanobody
Sponsors of dLifeWanderer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for dLifeWanderer
2 years ago

Comments

Abuse is abuse whether it is physical or verbal. It also knows no gender. I just hope that people would be strong enough to report these kind of abuses. It should not be tolerated just because we love the person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally agree.., that has been a struggle, victims are hesitant to report due to economic dependency and the reason that they still love the person (abuser).., it's also hard to help someone if they don't want to receive help..,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really can't avoid those happening these days because of this pandemic we are facing. Some can feel stress and depression because of their problem financially which then result to have misunderstandings at home. Others also have partners who have some vices like drinking alcohol then if they got drink they became wild and they are not aware that they hurt their partner while they are in their drunken state.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Studies say that cases of abuse has increased since the onset of pandemic which was bought by alot of factors specially the stay at home..,

Being under the influence of alcohol, was the common excuse of other people for hurting their partner.., but still it os not a valid reason to hirt someone..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes exactly.

-I'm thankful to God that I have a partner who always prioritizes us and has long patience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to hear.., simple appreciation of your partner is one of the secrets of being in a relationship 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that is right, appreciating each other now and then, telling how special they are every day, and spending time to talk about our current life will make our bond stronger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

for the past 3 days I have been attending a webinar about abuse and now your article related to what I have heard. the advocate is "end it now" for those being abuse and abusers. don't be a silent make a voice.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes po, it has to end now.., it's a heartbreaking thing specially that the children also suffers from such..,

$ 0.00
2 years ago