Get some shut-eye with these idioms

13 37
Avatar for cybelgian
2 years ago
Topics: Rest, Sleep, Expressions

So it was World's Sleep Day yesterday. Don't you think we owe it to ourselves to celebrate this very important thing we spend a third of our life on? Knowing that Asian countries are among those who top the list of most sleep-deprived nations, I guess the answer is YES! I hope everyone here is getting the right amount of sleep depending on your genes and circadian rhythm also known as our body clock.

Anyways, I won't be talking more about how important sleep is because I think it's already given, but I'm going to drop some idiomatic expressions about sleep just to fit the celebration instead.

Photo from Unsplash

1. Not sleep a wink

I bet we all do this a lot of times. This idiom means to not get sleep at all. So the next time you overwork and complain about it, you might wanna tell your co-worker "You owe me a cup of coffee because I did not sleep a wink last night working on the tasks I need to cover for your absence."

2. Woke up on the wrong side of the bed

When you woke up on the wrong side of the bed, that simply means you woke up in a bad mood. It's not hard to find where this expression came from on the internet. It is said that this was taken from a Roman superstitious belief where they make sure not to wake up on a particular side of the bed that is thought to be unlucky. It makes sense in real life now because it would be very unlucky for the people around you to deal with your drama early in the morning. For example: "Make sure not to act silly today, mom woke up on the wrong side of the bed!"

3. Get some shut-eye

Shut-eye means sleep. So to get some shut-eye means to get some sleep. Instead of simply telling your hard-headed night owl friends to get some sleep, tell them "Don't you mind getting some shut-eye? It's too late to go out!"

4. Hit the hay

"That was a long tiring day, I'm gonna leave and hit the hay now!" is what you say when you want to tell someone that you are going to go to bed. It is said that Americans used hay as a word for bed before. Another thing is, beds backs in the old days used to be stuffed with hay.

5. Out like a light

This is obviously not me. When someone is out like a light, that means he/she falls asleep very quickly. "He was out like a light as soon as he hit the hay!"

And that is all, my friends! I don't stick to a proper sleeping schedule myself and I've always wanted to change that! Let's get cozy and have plenty of sleep now and rock the world later! Toodles!

*Lead Image is from Unsplash as well*

5
$ 1.29
$ 1.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Murakamii.7
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
+ 2
Sponsors of cybelgian
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cybelgian
2 years ago
Topics: Rest, Sleep, Expressions

Comments

Mastewa na na blogger woi hahahaha naenjoy na ka dzai?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha huy ter maikog jod ko nimo oy ayawg basa bi chariz hahaha naenjoy jod ko ter nag suwat pa gani ko gahuna huna na sd kog lain yabag na hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waking up at the wrong side of the bed is still used here. We know this situation to bring up anger to the person and which he or she would dish out the anger to anyone available... when he/she go against the rule

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really! Here, this phrase isn't really used because we don't speak English at home but my father always wakes up on the wrong side of the bed so I'm really familiar with this hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hear most of those from my hubby, sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You must be learning a lot from your husband po ♥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe thanks for sharing sis :) Sayang, World Sleep Day man diay gahapon, wa ko kabalo natulog unta ko whole day lol..Ay, naa man diay koy bata hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yiee thanks for reading sis! Pwede man ta mobawi ron sis himuon natong World Sleep Month hahahahah mao sad ka lisod if mommy na sis nuh, sige lang bawi2 lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah isa ka buwan ko ana matulog sis lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha kalabad sa ulo ana sis oy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha mao jud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh wow, to be honest this os my first time that I encounter those idioms, for me its another learning that I get.Thanks for sharing😊🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad it helped! Thank you so much for taking some time to read, it means so much to me. ♥

$ 0.00
2 years ago