From up on D's Rooftop

5 21
Avatar for curiouscat
2 years ago

Hello long time no published 🤧 and also I miss reading articles here huehue (sana di pa ko limot ni rusty at ninyo wickkdnskk)

The last challenge that I have to finish and overcome ended yesterday.

I passed the pre-board exam and I will surely graduate now 🥺

But, the struggles is neveeeeeeer easy. It's always a tearjerker since day 1. But, God allowed me to finish this course, I know that He guided me all throughout the journey. I am not yet sure about the other things but I really want to focus evangelizing my love ones and other people now that I am few steps to finish my bachelor's degree. Work? Board exam? Am not yet sure. Yeah people will find it odd that I don't have plans after this but I think some can actually relate. The difference is that, even I know I don't have a plan for myself I believe that God has plan for me.

The challenges before this success

Well, it's been really difficult since my first year as a Chemical Engineering Student. First year first semester I already got incomplete grade and drop one subject so I have to retake it. My prof dropped me and my other blockmates on that subject because he said it's better than having 5.0 (failed grade) in out record. So he's generous na nun hahaha I retake that subject and became an irregular student. Imagine I am still adjusting that time, new place, new people, new way of living, then I received failing grade on my first sem? I cried hard and always told my mom I'll come home and shift course. She said okay, it's on me whatever my decision they'll support me. Dad also told me the same. But I know dad wants me to keep going, he knows I am tough and his youngest won't give up that easily. While he was calling me one time, he asked me if I already fix my papers so I can trasfer school and shift course. It's funny how busy I am with all my ChemEng subject that I can't actually find time to fix my papers. I told him not yet, and it's like that until I he asked me if I will still shift then told me not to ("mashift ka pa baga? Wag na" with matching giggle cutiee). That's when I told myself I will finish this course for my parents. Not for me? Well, their happiness is mine.

The following years became more and more of a roller coaster ride. Failed exams here and there, the only difference is that, di na ko umiiyak HAHAHAH I become used to getting failing mark and then standing up again to fight. I didn't hear any complain from my parents even though they have to give me extra money for summer class and I seldom come home. My friends are the best, they make things less stressful. One of my advice to those who'll enter college especially when you don't know anyone, is that, be with people that understands you and make you comfortable. I have a super introvert friend and we understand her no and they also understand my i-don't-want-hang-out times. We are just hanging out while ranting hahah in our boarding house but sometimes I want my me time and I just sleep in my room while they are in the lounge. We mostly sleep too if we have time, it's cheaper than eating somewhere or gala here and there it's good for the body too hahaha.

Dad also told me he's not pressuring me and everytime I told him I failed this subject he always says that's fine and I can do it and that I can repeat it. He said he hope I finish my studies when he reach 60, that time, he was 55 so he's giving 5 years (my course is 4 years). Sadly, he past away at 55 February 2020 before the total lockdown. Papa, supposedly he's now 58 (mag 59 pa sa August) and am already finishing my my degree. I am a year early sa wish nya na maka graduate ako when he reach 60 but he's not here anymore. It was a bit saddening, but whenever I think that he's now away from pain it makes my longing bearable.

Third year and 4th comes pandemic, online classes is totally draining my energy. I had a small operation on my thyroid because I developed a lump which is due to my weakened immune system. It's because I was really stress on my 3rd year and overloaded units so I can be a regular student, but the consequence is I failed to take care of my health. I become a regular student when I reached 4th year.

Last April 20,2022 me and my friends traveled back to pur University. It was a long ride (almost 5 hours). Then we continue with our Chemical Plant Design, Thesis, and other requirements. Everyday is tiring to the point we don't sleep. First accomplishment is defending our thesis, we succeeded with a lot of good comments and praises from our panels ❤️ Then come our chemical plant design that stress out every cells in my body (🤧😭), it's a hood thing that our prof allowed us to defend our project because supposedly we have to pass our manuscript 2 days before our scheduled Defense but we end up passing it 2 hours before our defense. I didn't sleep during this time and it was 7am when the results (financial analysis of the chem plant) had errors. I have to rush things to finish it and in God's grace we passed it 10am. At 12pm we start presenting our paper and also received good comments with minor revisions. It was another accomplishment, PD defended! It's like we have 2 thesis this sem that's why it's difficult. Then comes pur pre-boards exam. This exam is what most of us are afraid of. Since we had our defense last May 5, the only time we can review is on May 6 because the next day is exam. Imagine reviewing all the lessons since first year in a day?? Gosh

It's impossible to pass that exam if I am only alone. But, God is with me. He let me pass it, it's not because of my ability but because he let things to be this way. What if it turns tge other way around and I failed that? I'll trust in Him that I'll pass the remedial, if I fail again and didn't graduate this year? I'll still trust His plans for me.

Faith on Him not on me.

This long journey of my college life will soon end. I had a lot of good and difficult experiences and both thought me several lessons in life.

From up on D's rooftop (boarding house) I am writing this while enjoying the wonderful view.

Thanks for stopping by ❤️

5
$ 9.12
$ 8.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 1
Avatar for curiouscat
2 years ago

Comments

Chachan, congratulations 👏🎉👏 a d Congratulations in advance na din sure ng pagtatapos no. You did it. After so many fails, after so many puyat and all. For sure if your Pops ks here anong lapad ng ngiti nya. He's also guiding you for sure 😊. CONGRATULATIONS 👏🎉 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Supeeer late reply perooo thank u ruffaaa chan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Keep fighting for your dreams lng tlaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when pandemic came it was hard to study online especially when your course is a bit of difficult and needs to learn it personally..

welcome back and nice to read your article again..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, we have to do a lot of laboratory stuff but end up relying on virtual labs.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago