Self-Published Author Experience on Kobo - 0 sales in half a year

0 51
Avatar for cryptotexty
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, History, Book, Books, Literature, ...

Not a motivational post this time - but I want to share my experience with you, my crypto-blog readers. Somewhere in spring 2022 I took some time and published 3 books on Kobo, a platform for electronic books. I can't publish on Amazon Kindle - as they banned me there many years ago (probably because of my "Maidan Geopolitcal" book, but they don't tell the reason. They also stole my royalties. That's why now it's not an option for me. That's why I choose Kobo, but unfortunately, I have 0 sales there.

So my 3 books are (with links):

  1. Rating 5.0. Blablacar Stories - travel stories, I planned to write a bigger collection of them, but because of russian war against Ukraine, I published it sooner - with a goal to collect additional funds for our fight for freedom.

    https://www.kobo.com/ww/en/ebook/rating-5-0-blablacar-stories

  2. The Velvet Wound (Novel)

    https://www.kobo.com/ww/en/ebook/the-velvet-wound

  3. Insha Imperium - Poetry in Ukrainian and English

    this book was published in print many years ago, I still have a few copies left

    https://www.kobo.com/ww/en/ebook/insha-imperium

I didn't do any marketing. I really didn't have time for it. So I didn't expect many sales... But 0... Only 0... it means nobody bought my book. But they are available on Kobo platform for more than half a year - somebody should see them... But 0 sales.

That's why my advice for you, my fellow writers is: if you are going to publish ebooks - search for another platform. Maybe if your name is already well-known - it won't matter where you are selling your books. But if you don't have your own sales channels - don't expect some random people to find your book and earn.

One more reason why we need to have a crypto-alternative for the ebook marketplace - the minimum amount which I will receive (if I reach it) is $50. But what if I have only $18 now? That's better than nothing - but I can't withdraw it...

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
Sponsors of cryptotexty
empty
empty
Avatar for cryptotexty
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, History, Book, Books, Literature, ...

Comments