Cardano temporarily stuck on exchanges. Why and what is possible solution?

2 93
Avatar for cryptotexty
3 years ago

If you follow the news from the Cardano ecosystem, you know that hardfork (Shelley phase) happened on 29 July. Since then and up to this date most of these exchanges disabled both Deposits and Withdrawals, it means they didn't implement the hardfork changes yet. On 1 August Charles Hoskinson said in his video that 3 of 15 exchanges upgraded (twitter link) and I checked recently Binance, Kucoin, Bittrex, Cointiger (those where I have profiles) and deposits/withdrawals are still unavailable.

Why it has to take so long, to make holders suffer (at least those who need to transact, buy and sell)? Especially now that with Shelley, staking became available and many will want to get additional ADA stake asap, in order to receive the rewards on 18 August (first day of the first rewards to be distributed).

Crypto-enthusiasts like to say "Not your keys - not your coins". In Daedalus wallet update to Shelley wallet is super easy. But not everyone is comfortable for this, and even among Cardan active users, some got "stuck" in the exchanges.

That's bad. It will be solved anyway. For many people, that's not a big deal to wait. But still I decided to come out with some suggestions to improve the situation.

I. Use alternatives to "top" exchanges

For example, there is a small exchange Richamster it's so small, that it's even not on Coinmarketcap, but there is ADA listed.

I know those guys, as when I had crypto-bar last year, they organized meetup there. I spoke with their CEO and right after hardfork they upgraded. I was surprised for such speed, so I sent a transaction to my account and it worked. Then I sent more ADA there, and sold some (I needed fiat, and it's the only exchange which had ADA pair with UAH (Ukrainian Hryvnia)

So I have only one question for major exchanges: If a small exchange can upgrade so fast, why can't you?

I'm sure there exist other exchanges which upgraded fast. Even if small exchanges have small liquidity, it's still possible to buy and sell. Even if volumes are small. That's why I use them as I consider this as a part of decentralization.

II. Creation of Cardano DEX

I think that's a matter of time. Moreover with Goguen and when tokens, assets will be released on Cardano - definitely there will be Cardano DEX.

III. Cardano OTC

OTC (Over-The-Counter), I suppose, will become also a factor in the Cardano ecosystem, especially when the amounts of transacted currency will be high.

But I think even on a small amount OTC-service might appear, and it can be achieved based on Cardano Forum. The reputation system and the history of accounts can be the guarantee for safe peer-to-peer exchange, or a safe way to choose escrow (mediator in transaction).

For example you urgently cash, or BTC - then you can address it on Cardano forum (which will of course will grow my the quantity and geographical diversity of users) and get cash fast (if you find somebody in your area) or BTC(USDT,ETH).

And what are your thoughts?

Recently I choose to delegate ADA with AZUR staking pool and simple video guide. And what about you? Already staking?

4
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of cryptotexty
empty
empty
Avatar for cryptotexty
3 years ago

Comments

I think, that Cardano DEX, will be a good solution. Slowly, and steadily DEX, will find their way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great post. As you have faced many problems regarding transaction, in the same way for many people it may not a big deal to wait. They may also want to transact. I think too that Cardano DEX will work, may be it resolve the problem. But I don't know too much about this as I am new here

$ 0.00
3 years ago