Web writer or ghost writer

10 38
Avatar for criptocu
1 year ago
Topics: Phantom, Write, Writing, Blogging, Blog, ...

Hello everyone. As I mentioned in my reintroduction to read.cash, I currently work as a web writer. That is why today I want to talk to you about my experience in this work.

Image from Unsplash

The truth is that I have always liked to write, although many times I would not know what to write about. Precisely because I liked to write, I always did it on personal blogs or social networks about topics that I was passionate about or simply giving my opinion.

It is not until September 2021 that I start to do it a little more seriously writing for a Cuban fintech magazine called Kwelta. I got to write this by interacting with their writers on Twitter until I pitched them an article I had written.

They reviewed my material, liked it, published it, and then invited me to be a regular writer for them. Unfortunately, due to financial problems, this magazine closed, but I still had the experience, the contacts and the desire to write.

In fact, thanks to writing for this magazine I was contacted by an SEO copywriter who needed a ghost copywriter. So even though the magazine closed, I kept working writing.

Perhaps many of you are wary of becoming a ghost writer. Honestly, everything has its pros and cons. Since I have been in both aspects of the writing, I think I can give you an honest opinion based on my experience.

Sponsors of criptocu
empty
empty
empty

The best option for work

Let's see then.

As a web writer, many times it is up to you to look for the topics that you must deal with, although yes, always following the editorial line. Also, when you are starting out, it may be a bit difficult for you to find work or clients who will give you an opportunity on their platforms and pay you for it.

Of course, as you write, you build a portfolio where you can attest to future employers of your experience and talent.

On the other hand, if you are a ghost writer, things change. You can get more job opportunities, but it's not that easy either. The fact is that by not putting your name on your creations you cannot show a portfolio of work that shows your quality and talent.

You will depend mainly on the word of mouth marketing that your customers do. However, you do not need to worry about the topic to be discussed, since the clients themselves will tell you what to write about and all the guidelines and conditions that you must comply with.

On the other hand, if you are a ghost writer, things change. You can get more job opportunities, but it's not that easy either. The fact is that by not putting your name on your creations you cannot show a portfolio of work that shows your quality and talent.

You will depend mainly on the person-to-person marketing that your clients do. However, you do not need to worry about the topic to be discussed, since the clients themselves will tell you what to write about and all the guidelines and conditions that you must comply with.

Concluding thoughts

Now you can compare the advantages and disadvantages and analyze which one you prefer for yourself. The workload of the ghost writer or the recognition of being able to sign your creations.

Extra advice: be very careful when choosing your client, do not be afraid to say no. There are clients who either pay very little to the point of exploiting you or directly once they get the jobs they disappear and never make the payment. If you can, always ask for an advance to secure your financial interests.

Self image made whit Canva

If you can not scan the QR code click here

4
$ 1.46
$ 1.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Unity
$ 0.02 from @charol09
+ 1
Sponsors of criptocu
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for criptocu
1 year ago
Topics: Phantom, Write, Writing, Blogging, Blog, ...

Comments

I had the same experience as yours every time a want to write, many times I would not know what to write about, but I do like writing. In my own opinion, I prefer both, ghostwriting or the other as long as they pay well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ghostwriting give you another perspective that you later can use for your own writing. And we have to stay strong and dismiss some clients than donĀ“t want pay properly for our work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for the info, actually I wrote also in a magazine that also closed but I couldn't find another writing job, but I will keep in mind your words and advices for the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can try on lowpost.com that is a plataform for copywriters. Good luck and keep focus on what you want achieve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot! I will check that and yes let's focus on!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You may get paid more being a ghostwriter, but as you said, you canont show your work. You have a huge opportunity as a web writer. You can work for your clients or work with an agency. You may create your own agency and turn it into a business. You can write on web 3.0 platforms like read.cash.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, everything have good and bad sides. The choice depend on each one. Thanks for comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a ghostwriter for technology subjects, especially cybersecurity and cryptocurrencies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice, I love that subjects but for now I only receive works for blogs. Do you have a plataform to search this jobs?

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago