I don't have a nurturing nature, so I had to cheat

16 58
Avatar for crimsonowlkk
2 years ago

My little darling, I'm sorry I am your mother.

My forever love, I'm sorry I happened to be the mother of your child.

https://unsplash.com/photos/42LLGP-QPj4?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditShareLink

Children. They're the most expensive investment with no return. At least, that's what I think. On top of investing money in them, you have to invest time, love, care that would leave no room for yourself. The bigger they grow the more financial and emotional investment is needed so when you think they are old enough so you can go back to investing in yourself, they need more.

Being married to the love of my life meant the world to me. I didn't need anything as long as we are together but he wanted something more... something more from me - children. I am not so fond of kids so I never thought of whether or not I wanna have my own. But I love my husband and his dream was to have a family so being his lovely wife, I did not oppose.

Come the day I knew I was pregnant, I was happy, elated even. My husband didn't have a reaction when I told him but he was there at every doctor's appointment and was very patient with me, which I think what I needed most at that time more than being pampered or spoiled.

However, childbirth wasn't as blissful as pregnancy. I thought I was gonna die when I was in active labor. I almost crushed my husband's and the attending nurses' hands while pushing. Finally, when I pushed my child out into the cruel world, I tore and overbled so I needed stitching. I was stitched down without any type of anesthesia and so screamed like a butchered pig the whole time.

When I was left alone with my child in the hospital bed and found out she won't breastfeed on me, I realized then and there that I wasn't suited to be a mother. I did not feel that mother-child euphoric connection most mothers feel upon giving birth. That kind of feeling that you "instantly love" the child you just gave birth to. However, my husband was blissful when he saw our child. When I saw my husband being that happy, I had to swallow the trauma I felt during childbirth and detach myself from the creeping emotional stress to BE A MOTHER.

I had to cheat in a lot of ways to raise my child.

While most mothers would exhaust all means so they can breastfeed and have bragging rights to say "my child was raised in breast milk", I quitted trying to breastfeed and cheated instead by using formula milk. Another emotional stress since it made me feel guilty that I couldn't feed my child with my own breast milk.

Being a first-time mother, I lacked the skills and patience to soothe my child when she is upset so again, I cheated by relying on pacifiers. Pacifier is a helpful tool in raising a kid since it can help them sleep and calm themselves faster than rocking the kid back and forth endlessly until you can't feel your arms.

When it was time for my child to wean, I tried to buy all the books about how to prepare baby food. I tried to follow every step; ground the heck out of steamed rice to make a porridge, boiled, cut, and ground vegetables for her but my kid will not eat even a drop of it. What I had to do to avoid starving her was buy was to rely on premade baby food from the store. Now, she likes takeouts more than my home cook meals.

How can some months old kid do so much emotional damage? I don't know.

Maybe she's starting to realize she doesn't like me.

https://unsplash.com/photos/5_n3X6EfRNc?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditShareLink

I still haven't felt the bliss of motherhood, I guess I never will. Even my beloved husband told me, albeit jokingly, that I'm not fit to be a mother. I just told him "we'll stop at one kid then". He didn't take that as a joke because the look in his eyes showed a broken, helpless man. "No, that's not what I meant. I still want one more kid with you", he said with an assuring smile.

I do not have a nurturing bone in my body, not suited to be a mother but my child didn't wish to be born in this world. Therefore, for her to still have a mother by her side, for my husband to have a wife in this lifetime, for me to keep my sanity in this mess, I had to cheat.


I will leave it to your imagination to believe whether this is fiction or not. I just had fun writing this, as stated in the rules. I like to take different approaches in writing prompts so here's the result of my unconventional approach. What's your cheating story? I'm dying to know.

The rules for the wiring prompt are simple:

  1. Write about cheating

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

Credits :

All images used are from Unsplash unless stated otherwise.



I'm crimsonowl, an artist in progress trying to make a living out of art, an NFT artist-creator, a crypto blogger talking about anime. art and everything in between - just a Random girl in the blockchain.



9
$ 0.51
$ 0.40 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 1
Sponsors of crimsonowlkk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for crimsonowlkk
2 years ago

Comments

Whether it is true or not please don't think of giving a formula milk as cheating, my mother said when I was still a child I'm not into breastfeeding so there's no other choice but to use a formula milk, and don't ever think you're not suited to be a mother because of it. I'm a Mama's boy btw and I love my mother so much ♥️

By the way I envy the way you write, it's just so good.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Let me say this first. I almost lost my mind when I looked at your username after reading your comment. I'm a Gojou simp and in a split second, it's as if Gojou was talking to me.

But back to your comment, bless your heart. I hope when the time comes you get to have your own family, you take care of your partner, and be even more grateful of your mother's unspoken efforts. And thanks for liking my writing style!! That means a lot!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This talks about a topic people don't take note of most times. Post birth Trauma need to be spoken about. How the mothers can be taken care of after delivery. Not only the baby should. The Fathers too should try to be observant. And when they notice this. Best thing to do is to support the woman not chastise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree, especially in this day and age where women are self-empowered and self-aware. People are very excited to meet the baby but fail to see a struggling mother behind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naysuuuu, I like the approach on how you deliver the prompt, ay basta ganon na nga ahahaha. Kaya mandin ayaw kong mag anak, feeling ko talaga di sya bagay sakin, yong pamangkin ko nga sinusukuan ko kasi ang arti, for sure magagawa ko din sa magiging anak ko yan for sure. Baka mag cheat lang din ako lalo na pag imbes na dede ang gawain ng bata, kinakagat ung nipple, ay nevermind talaga aguyy. May chupon nalamg sya, ahahaha. At bukod dun masakit manganak, kaya ayaw ko na talaga. Ung hipag ko nga, tinahian din sya ng walang anaesthesia aguyy grabing pain, awt, pighati daw nadama nya 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan nakakatrauma din magbasa ng ganito kaya minsan isipin mo na ayaw mo manganak kasi kasakit. Darating din ang panahon na gugustuhin mo magkaanak at di mo maiisip ang sakit at pighati

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa totoo lang, saka maka rinig ng kwento aguyy. Kasalanan ng hipag kp to ee hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful article. Indeed, being a mother is not a easy peasy thing to be. Your right, there are times that mother's really need to cheat when it comes in taking care of their baby. Not everyone could breast feed their child so they have no choice but to used formula milk. Either of the two, nothing can make you less as a mother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to giving formula milk. My gave up breastfeeding on my first child because she just wont take it. I dont use pacifiers tho, I rock her to sleep until I cant feel my arms anymore hehe.

Nice article about cheating. For me it doesn't sound like a fiction,

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi! Glad that you stumbled upon my article! Maybe I watch too much MamaDoctorJones on YT for this to sound so real or…. 🙊🙊🙊🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha I even thought you had first hand experience. Most of it I experienced actually. But I dont know the detachment thing between the mother and the child. Maybe it is true to some.

I visit links in noise when I read all articles in my notification page. It brought me here 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe relate ito sa pinanood ko kanina 😁 pero yun naman both nila gusto magkababy. Hmmn pero astig yung pagkakadescribe ng cheat very different to others cheating stories :) try mo pa yung ibang prommmpt! Looking forward to it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di kasi ako makarelate sa kabit cheating eh kaya heto na lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ang dami din talagang topic variety ng cheating kaya lang parang overused sa infidelity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

puro naman kasi infidelity ang drama sa ABS at GMA kasi eh hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha! Oo nga parang naging legal na haha 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago