Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar: My Insights

2 22
Avatar for cpilosopotasya
2 years ago

Due to an upcoming speaking engagement, I am forced to read some books and articles. I plan to start by reading this first because the title seemed interesting: Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar.

Since I haven't read it yet so this article will just be my insights on some selected parts of the book. I am personally selecting stories and anecdotes used in the book and I will try my best to share my thoughts and hopefully, I would be able to give justice to each of them (I am really crossing my fingers).

By the way, I am not going to explain them based on how the book used them. The author of the book did it already. You may just read the book. What I will do is to analyze them out of the context used in the book.

Let's start!

THE IMPOSSIBLE

In this story, there were two impossible scenarios presented. One is the hunter shooting a bear with an umbrella and the other is the 90 year old man impregnating the 18 year old wife. But when can we really speak of the possibility of something? Then I remembered the fallacy, Appeal to Ignorance which says that it is not right to claim the truthfulness of something because no one has proven otherwise.

The 90 year old did not think it to be impossible for his 18 year old wife to be impregnated by him. Could it then be that the possibility or impossibility of something actually relies on the person looking at it?

Lesson: I still believe that nothing is impossible. I don't know with you.

THE WISE

Throughout history, man has been trying his best to find wisdom. Buddha for example bailed out of his riches to seek wisdom under a Bo tree. The twelve disciples of Jesus gave up their livelihood to follow Jesus and his wisdom. There are more of them if I go on.

This story reminds me of a movie I really love -- PK. It talks about how people can be fooled by others who claim to be wise and powerful. Sadly, religions according to the movie blinds people by the show of wisdom they offer to the people.

Lesson: Be vigilant as many try to appear wise but they in fact are wolves ready to devour.

THE CHANGE

They say, "There is nothing permanent except change". Indeed, in our society, each one is aiming for change --change of environment for people tired of a workplace or just working at home with this world situation; change of spouse or partner for those having a problem with their significant others; change in looks for those who think that they could look like those gorgeous men and women in the entertainment industry; or simply, change in...(up to you to fill in)

There is nothing wrong with change because we need it. We need to rectify our wrongs and be better humans. We need to change our style when they don't work. We need change in many ways.

Lesson: Change is good but let us not let ourselves become unrecognizable.

THE UNNOTICED

I really like this story.

Often in life, we don't give attention to things or people which or who do not leave something remarkable. But like the story, these petty things or people could actually be greater than we think.

That friend who seem to be the most unreliable may actually be the real friend. That rowdy student who seem not to be listening may actually be the one who can comprehend best. That timid one in the corner may in fact the most brilliant of them all. That writer in this platform not being noticed may actually be pouring his/her heart in his/her crafts. That reader reading this lousy article may actually be learning from it. This lousy article may actually be superb for the writer. It goes on and on...

Lesson: The cliche, "Do not judge a book by its cover" may still actually work.

CONCLUSION

The impossible, the wise, and the change could be things we just hope for but let us not waver for they could just be around the corner...unnoticed.

Glory to God!

****************************************************************

Special thanks goes to my sponsor: @FrieLincs

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for cpilosopotasya
2 years ago

Comments

way to goooo! You are awesome, really! Keep writing. Never mind the bot, he'll come to you in time. Just believe and don't let the spirit be dampened by others.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Superbbb! I will share this with my friends!

$ 0.00
2 years ago