If Agama Lizards could Talk.

7 79
Avatar for cooldude
1 year ago

Image

It's been 2 hours I've used to deliberate whether I should make the jump or not. Yes it's going to be a challenging one, the rocks are so far apart. but I have no choice. I have to make the jump, because the grasshoppers on the other side are greener. 😎 How did I get here? Let me tell you about myself first.

I am a well known genus of the lizard family, the Agama Lizard. In fact I am the most popular, especially in Africa. I am male, so I'm red-headed. The females are quite different, they take on other head colors like brown, grey among others. Our average lifespan is 25 to 30 years. Well don't be surprised, we do a lot of exercises so we are fit and healthy.

As you well know, Agamas are popular for one thing: nodding their heads. We know that we have cast in the human world, because our behavior can be used to mock people. "See how you nod your head like Agama lizard". Guilty right?Yeah I caught you. But did you know that there is a story behind this unique trait of ours? Would you like to find out? Read on!

Now back to the opening scenario. Like is said, the grasshoppers are greener on the other side of the rock. If I want to have a nutritious breakfast, I have to push myself to make a kind of jump I have never made before. It is a Herculean task, but the results will definitely be worth it. I could picture myself savoring the tantalizing meal of a meaty grasshopper. Good heavens!

However things can go wrong as well. I could miss the jump and cause myself a lot of physical damage. I could break a leg or snap my tail. You humans always say that you never know what you are capable of until you try. I need to take the risk, whatever happens will teach me a lesson regardless.

'On a count of 3 I'll jump', I said to myself. 1, 2, 3... wheeze. Phew! I made it!

I look to the left and to the right. There is no one appreciating me, no one is telling me well done for that amazing jump. So I nod my head 3 times saying to myself "I tried na, I kuku try".

Whenever you see us nodding our heads, just know that we are appreciating ourselves for a job well done. We don't wait for someone else to do that. It's one behavior about us that is worthy of imitation.

It's sad when we observe humans and see how much importance they place on gratitude and validation from others. Hence when none is forthcoming they feel down, even after achieving a great feat. Don't wait for acknowledgement from others when you can give it to yourself.

The world is becoming a fierce competition every passing day, no one seems to have time for anyone anymore. So if you always depend on others before you can feel good about yourself, you are putting your whole life in the hands of others. And that, I'm sorry to say, is pathetic.

Did you just ace an exam? Pat yourself on the back. Did you just secure a good job? Appreciate yourself. Have you done anything spectacular, which yourself and others doubted you couldn't? Or like me, have you gotten yourself to a place where the grass is greener? Give yourself a nice treat for that. Don't wait on anyone before you express gratitude to yourself for a job well done.

Flesh and blood did not reveal this to you, an Agama did.

I hope you can hold on this lesson and always give yourself the gratitude you deserve.

Hey look! Two grasshoppers are smooching. Awwwn! Don't worry guys, I gat you. I don't want to stand in the way of love, you both can continue the romance in my stomach.

Šī¸ Kennysplash

4
$ 0.93
$ 0.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
Sponsors of cooldude
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cooldude
1 year ago

Comments

Hahahaha "I made that jump. Looks around well, if no one would praise me, I would praise myself." Nods head - yours sincerely, Agama. 😂😂đŸ¤ŖđŸ¤Ŗ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😅 that's great, the Agama motivator feels good seeing you make use of those lessons. 👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahaha. You are doing well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All the stories I've heard about the agama lizard portrayed to this self appreciation. This is how life is supposed to be, don't wait for anybody to appreciate or congratulate you for what you just achieved, thank God and appreciate yourself for a job well done

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, never depend on others for what you can give yourself. Appreciate yourself and see how people will follow suit. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How long Agama Lizards grow bro? I like the color pattern both orange on head and tail.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grow? About 16 inches

$ 0.00
1 year ago