What Christina Has Taught Me

8 25
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago

I posted in Dbuzz recently about my friend, Christina, who passed away last week. She passed away peacefully after many years of battling cancer. Though it was heartwrenching to lose someone, I wasn't surprised by the news. She had deteriorated rapidly since the beginning of the year. Everyone hoped she would pull through, but God called her home when the time was right.

To be honest, I wasn't close to her. She was more an acquaintance than a close friend. We were 'sisters in Christ' because we attended the same church for many years. However, we were never in the same ministry, so we never really got to build our friendship. We talked casually in church, but that was the extent of that friendship. Other than knowing each other's basic background, we had never known each other on a deeper level. And yes, she was my makeup artist when I tied the knot and when I was so new to the church and hardly knew anyone. I will always be grateful that she was willing to extend a helping hand and offered her service despite not knowing me personally. I will always be thankful for her kindness and generosity. I mean, she could have said no to me. And I would have understood because I knew she had a baby daughter who needed her attention.

My husband and I attended her online funeral service. What I meant was that the service was broadcasted online via Zoom to benefit those who couldn't participate in it physically. We wept as we listened to various eulogies, childhood anecdotes from siblings, fond memories from relatives, etc. She loved to welcome family and friends to her home and cooked for everyone. She just enjoyed spending time with those she loved. Everyone loved her. The stories of her selflessness, friendliness, and kindness stood out the most. And she loved God the most and always shared her faith with anyone she met. She continued to teach us about servanthood even in her death.

I reflected long and hard for the past few days because death often changes our perspective on life. What kind of legacy do I want to leave behind? Christina had taught me the value of cherishing people more than anything. We all will die someday, but most of us don't think about death all the time, or maybe not at all. We often delude ourselves into thinking that life is perpetual, nothing bad will happen to us, and we could go on living to old age. But the fact is, accidents occur every day. People fall sick. We can't predict these things and plan ahead of time to prevent them from happening.

Christina's passing has changed my perspective about my relationships with people, especially my loved ones. In death, she taught me to hold my loved ones close and always make an effort to nurture that relationship. Prioritize people above things. Think more of TODAY and worry less about TOMORROW.

Life is precious. Never take anyone for granted, but cherish one another dearly. Be the light to the world. Leave a positive legacy and meaningful impact on those around us.

Note: All pictures were taken on my wedding day, 16 years ago. Christina was my makeup artist.


That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

My First NFT Collection – Stencil 2017 – Is Now Available On OpenSea

My Second NFT Collection – Oli Kawaii Verse – Is Now Available On OpenSea

4
$ 3.95
$ 3.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
Sponsors of coloringiship
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago

Comments

This made my eyes water :( But your arts are so cool. I have to go check them on. Nice to meet you @coloringiship :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for your kind words @Bloghound , and nice to meet you too :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Xoxoxoxo see you around :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You mentioned about death... I am teary eyed right now.. Or should i say I am secretly crying right now... I remember my father.. He just past away last Feb 8... The pain is still there...

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I am so sorry for your loss. Losing someone permanently is never easy. The grief stays for the rest of our lives. It may be less intense but it still remains.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes might be thats true.. it will trigger when i remember something about him, when i see his pictures, or when time seems so quiet and his memories appear abruptly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take time to grief, sis, it's okay to feel that way. Hugs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks po..

$ 0.00
1 year ago