A World of Blue Waiting For Me

3 17
Avatar for coffeejelly
1 year ago

Music is art.

This song titled “Blue” is a piece of art by Japanese music duo Yoasobi. This is actually the English version of their song “Gunjou”. Even if I cannot understand the Japanese language, I felt the song in my heart. I first fell in love with the Japanese version and it made me happy that they made an English version so people like me would better understand their work of art.

This song is based on a Japanese manga or comics, Blue Period. It is a story about a high school student who is popular in their school and has good grades, despite being a delinquent with a carefree attitude.

However, deep inside, he battles with feelings of emptiness. Even when he hangs out with his friends, he feels that he wants something more fulfilling in his life. While mulling over his confusion, he finds himself staring at the vibrant blue landscape in their city.

When he visited his school’s art club, that is when he was inspired to pursue art. He felt a different kind of emotion while he put his all in painting that blue landscape he always sees. This is where his journey of pursuing art started. The song is based on his story. It talks about finding our passion and the struggles that come with pursuing it.

I felt a connection with this song because I can relate to what it wants to express. I was also a good student when I was in high school. I had fairly good grades. I have friends I hang out with which made my daily life fun and exciting.

However, I always felt that I had no purpose.

I was just going along with my life without thinking where it takes me. That is why, I had no idea what I should do after high school. At 16, I had to decide what career path I should take.

Like the song, I always felt that an emptiness surrounds me. I may have been good at studying, but I felt lost because I had no passion. It was pressuring. I chose Accountancy as my career path even when I did not really like it. I worked hard, expecting myself to eventually find my passion in this path I have taken.

I hope that was the case, but I just found it harder and harder to go on. Yet, I still kept moving forward.

The song resonated something in me. Pretending that I want this will not help me. I don’t have to force myself to have passion for something I don’t really enjoy. I always thought I had no choice but to accept that I had no passion or any direction in life. But, the song taught me, it’s always there waiting for me. Maybe for now, I still can’t see it. What matters is that I have hope. I am still young. I have decided that I shall continue this path I have taken and used what I have learned to be independent enough to look for what I have been searching for.

There will be a world of blue waiting for me.

Finding my passion is scary. It can be confusing. It is risky. Being able to find what I really want is not the ending. It would be just the beginning of my real life journey. There will be struggles, as the song says. I would find myself lagging behind. I foresee myself hesitating because of my lack of confidence.

But, when that time comes, I would turn again to art, to this song, for me to find the strength to keep going. It will be alright. My life may take a rock path. I may even go to the wrong places. I may have a slower pace than everybody else. But, that is how life is. The song teaches me that all I can really do is to have the fun even when the path is painful.

In times of loneliness, we turn to art. Songs like this are works of art that soothes our soul. We can all find comfort in art. This should also remind us that differences in languages should not be an obstacle for us to appreciate art. When we overcome that language barrier, we can open a new door full of wonders that will make our life more colorful.


This is only a life reflection of mine. I'm not promoting anything for monetary purposes.

Images are edited in Canva.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of coffeejelly
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coffeejelly
1 year ago

Comments

I love the meaning of the song my friend. I want to download it. Honestly I love Japanese songs. I will try to search it. I agree my friend. Just enjoy the path even there is pain.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I definitely recommend Yoasobi. They have such warm songs and painful songs as well. I hope you'll like it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will my friend. Now I will search it my friend. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago