Realizations after break up

3 43
Avatar for cnr64
Written by
3 years ago

Everyone knows that relationships come to an end. Dealing with pain, embracing, letting go, moving on, and processing a slew of other emotions at the same time is the hardest part.

My ex-boyfriend ended our relationship a year ago because he couldn't forgive me for a mistake I'd made.

During the first few weeks of our breakup, I decided it would be better if I just let him think things over. I acknowledged the repercussions of my mistake and made the decision not to place any pressure on him.

I knew it was my mistake we were in this situation, and he was suffering as a result of my mistakes (which didn't include emotional abuse).

We saw each other again after a month, and he told me that he couldn't forgive me for what I did, and that my mistake meant that I didn't love him and had never loved him in our two years together.

I apologised and begged for forgiveness. I demanded a second chance. He claimed that he could no longer trust me and that he could not risk being hurt again. I acknowledged his decision and went about my business.

After two months, he called me late one night. He shared his wish to see me and said he missed me terribly. We went to Starbucks the next day.

He admitted that he couldn't stop thinking about me, that he compared every woman to me, and that he wished to give us another chance. But then he said he was too nervous to completely commit to me because he didn't know what he wanted.

I was taken aback. I figured he approached me because he wanted to be with me, but he didn't. He was perplexed. Before hurting others, I told him he needed to find out what he wanted.

After three weeks, a friend of mine told me that he had a girlfriend.

He'd made up his mind to move on. Now it was up to me to do the same.

I was heartbroken. I was absolutely enamored with him. Since I had hope, I continued to wait for him. I was always holding out hope for a second chance. I was left with a gaping hole in my heart and a tumultuous, out-of-control mind.

If you've ever had to admit that someone you once loved no longer wants to be with you, you'll understand the barrage of emotions and thoughts that fill your mind every day, hour, and minute.

Even if you try to move on, to forget about this guy, to stop speculating and worrying about them, you don't seem to be making any progress.

Even though I never felt bad about the end of the relationship (I'm sure I tried everything I could to save it, and I wasn't going to torment myself), I was sad that he was with someone else, and I was always thinking about how great we used to be.

Talking to my friends about it just helped for a brief period. I still found myself remembering all the things I shouldn't be thinking again a few hours later.

Many of the wrong emotions were whirling around in my head like a storm.

I found myself unexpectedly unconcerned about the fact that our relationship had ended. Instead, I was preoccupied with how I was living each day and how I was thinking with a "victim" mentality.

With my own feelings, I was torturing myself! And I was the only one who could support me. The response could only be contained inside me.

I am a voracious reader who loves reading books, blogs, and essays. I was searching for the key insight that would allow me to finally feel at ease.

I discovered the power of positive thinking and acceptance as a result of this process.

Since everyone is special, they adapt to circumstances in unique ways. For example, I am a highly sensitive and fragile individual. I cry a lot when someone hurts me, but I forgive easily, don't hate, and don't want revenge.

Sadness and disappointment, on the other hand, stay with me for a long time, and I work hard to eventually let go of them.

Dealing with a breakup necessitates enormous strength on our part. To regulate our emotions, stop crying, find happiness in the present moment, and let go of that person we adore, we must be strong.

So, where do we get this strength? How do we continue to move forward? How do we start the process of letting go?

I've found that there is no one-size-fits-all solution to coping with a breakup.

Some may advise you to get involved with someone else as soon as possible; others may advise you to be alone for a few months; and still others may suggest that love isn't worth it and that you'll always be hurt.

I'd like to share what I've experienced as a result of my experience. I wish I could tell you it's easy, but it's not. It necessitates a great deal of bravery, persistence, resolve, hope, and self-confidence.

If you're going through a tough breakup right now, or if the memory of a loved one is so heavy in your heart that you think you'll never forget them, these suggestions might be helpful:

1. Cut off all communication with that person.

Avoid calling, texting, or sending emails. Respect his or her preference. It won't be easy, but remind yourself any time you try to text or call them, "This will just hurt me and make it more difficult to let go and move on with my life."

2. Instead of focusing on why it ended, consider what you could have done differently.

It's tempting to go over what happened again and again, blaming yourself for your mistakes, but if you can't change the past, why punish yourself by doing so? The reality that the relationship has come to an end and it is time to move on is all that matters.

3. Stop stressing about what the other person is thinking, doing, hoping, planning, and feeling.

You are the only one that cares right now. What you think, do, wish, intend, and feel counts.

4. Acceptance should be practiced.

Commit to completely embracing what is happening right now every morning. Believe that there is a purpose for all that is happening, and that it is all for the better. Even if you can't see it now, this breakup will help your development or lead to something positive.

5. Don't resent or wish something bad for that guy.

You won't harm them if you think bad things about them. Staying trapped in this kind of rage and bitterness can only damage you.

6. Allow yourself to deal with grief and feel.

For me, this was the most critical. Don't beat yourself up if you're sad or wish things were different. Enable yourself to feel the anguish of losing someone you care for.

Don't hide your feelings, and don't be afraid if you're in pain. Responding to a difficult feeling (such as sadness) with another difficult feeling only makes it worse (i.e. guilt). Enable yourself to feel whatever you want, with no time limit....

7. Take pride in the fact that you did everything you could.

Perhaps you fought for them or begged forgiveness. Be assured that you would never regret making the wrong decision or consider "what could have happened" in the future because you know you tried.

8. Gratitude should be practiced.

Create a list of all positive in your life for which you are thankful. Include qualities that distinguish you as a unique and attractive person. Continue to add to this list, taking into account all of the things we take for granted, such as our health, education, families, friends, and skills. If you ever feel like you've forgotten the most important thing in your life, refer to this list. You didn't do it. There's always a lot to be thankful for, and there'll be plenty more in the future.

9. Positive thinking should be accepted.

Consider something that encourages or uplifts you at the start of each day. Consider people you respect, unfulfilled dreams, and stuff you're looking forward to in your day. To combat negative feelings, fill the mind with constructive ones.

10. Take the time to learn.

Read self-help books or articles about the subject. Stop watching romantic movies and listening to love songs. (Don't be embarrassed—no one needs to know!) Instead, read, read, and read some more! Books have the ability to change your life.

Despite the fact that it has been four months since my breakup, I continue to put what I have shared with you into effect. It isn't easy, and it isn't something that happens on its own. The main thing is to get started.

Only you have the ability to alter your mood. No one else is capable.

Every day, remind yourself that life is good and that the pain will pass. Life is happening right now, and there's no need to waste any more time lamenting the past.

Change your mindset toward life, loss, and pain; learn to see all that happens to you as a blessing.

You can't control what anyone else does, so concentrate on what you can: your emotions, attitude, and reaction.

We've all been through breakups. You're not the only one who thinks this way. Don't lose hope; give it some time!

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
Avatar for cnr64
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Rather than beating myself up for what went wrong in the past, it's better to move on from the guilt and strive to make the myself better for me.

Thanks for sharing this🙃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Having the courage to write of all these reflect how strong you are as a woman. That's a sign of self-growth and development of maturity in your life. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago