TV Series: Drama: Do You Remember Tubbs and Crockett?

1 49
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Remember these two guys? Ricardo "Rico" Tubbs and James "Sonny" Crockett.

I lived in Miami, Florida, all my life up until 1987. That means I was there when they were filming this television series. The show was not really all that. But I liked it! Number 1 because it had a great soundtrack. Number 2 because I liked trying to figure out if I could guess the location where they filmed a particular scene. One filming location was actually a 5-minute walk from where I was working at the time which was the U.S. Customs Port of Entry.

The Miami Vice TV series aired in 1984 and lasted for 5 seasons. I knew it would not last longer than that because … let's face it! … those 2 guys who played Tubbs and Crockett, the undercover detectives, were only going to be gorgeous hunks for a few years. After that, real life age would start creeping in on them.

The Miami Vice TV series wasn't Oscar-worthy performances. (My opinion.) But I did like the guest stars who appeared in various episodes. One time Helena Bonham Carter was in an episode. She's a British Masterpiece Classic actress. Her appearance took the show up a notch.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The Miami Vice TV series which starred Don Johnson and Philip Michael Thomas was OK. It gets my 4 out of 5 stars for being able to last 5 seasons. After all, the original Star Trek only lasted 3 seasons and it was on a 5-year mission.

By contrast, the Miami Vice movie which was released in 2006 and starred Colin Farell and Jamie Foxx?

IT TOTALLY SUCKED!

(My opinion.)

It gets 2 out of 5 stars.

Why am I being generous and giving it 2 stars?

⭐️ The first star is because they cast Naomie Harris. Like Ms. Carter, she is another classy classic British actress that I admire. She was in the James Bond movie "Skyfall" (2012) and the Masterpiece miniseries "Small Island".

⭐️ The second star is because it was filmed in Miami, my hometown, and the scenery was authentic.

Have you seen Miami Vice, the TV series and/or the movie? What is your opinion?

📺 📺 📺

FUN LINK:

December 1985: The "Miami Vice" Soundtrack Takes Over America | Totally 80s ~ https://totally80s.com/article/december-1985-miami-vice-soundtrack-takes-over-america

Thanks for reading.

Sponsors of cmoneyspinner
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @Porwest
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Comments