Are There Certain Foods You Eat When You Feel Depressed?

2 54
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
11 months ago

Is it diet AND depression, or diet FOR depression, or both?

Several years ago I read an article that suggested that certain foods could help uplift the spirit or boost the mood of a person suffering from depression.  The article was not used as a substitute for medical advice.  However, one of the foods suggested in the article was dark chocolate.  It made me wish that I could find a doctor that would prescribe that food be included in my diet.  For any reason!  LOL. 😀😄

Here’s an interesting observation. It’s something I noted while doing research on this topic.  All my life, I’ve heard people say An apple a day keeps the doctor away.  There are scientific studies to show that eating apples yield certain health benefits. But there seems to be no information that suggests that eating apples can chase the blues away.  Too bad.  Would be nice if a slice of warm apple pie was on a list of foods you could eat to help battle depression.  LOL. 😀😄

On a serious note, as depression is a very serious topic, many of us do often eat and sometimes overeat or engage in “binge eating” to make ourselves feel better when we are depressed.  Such behavior could have the opposite effect and make you feel even worse; not to mention make you gain weight and become overweight.  The last thing you need, if you are suffering from depression, is to add a physical weight problem to a mental health problem.

There is health information that indicates there is a connection between a poor diet and depression.   

  • Speaking from my own personal experience when I suffered from depression, I honestly didn't care what I ate or if I ate anything at all. It was a struggle to get up and go to work every day, and to make sure my young children were fed. Fortunately, I had a very supportive husband who helped me find my way out of the black hole. He took charge of ensuring that I ate nourishing food.

In my opinion, the notion that certain foods can help or can be a part of a natural remedy for those experiencing depression seems to be sensible advice.  I do think that there are foods you can eat that will make you feel happy or comforted or uplifted.  But I'm not sure if it's nutritional or psychological. Many of us have "comfort foods" that we eat because we associate the food with a pleasant event in our life. But each person is different.  What might work for one person might not work for another person. Nevertheless, one can’t stress enough that before making any dietary changes, every person should seek proper medical advice.  That advice from a mental health professional might include consulting a nutritionist or health and wellness advisor.

Suggested Reading for Further Exploration of This Topic:

The 10 Most Powerful Foods for Fighting Depression with Diet

10 Foods I Eat Every Day to Beat Depression | Everyday Health

Tasty Foods That Help You To DeStress, Reduce Anxiety, and Depression

How diet can affect mental health: The likely link between food and the brain

Wishing you good health!

*Previously published content.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
11 months ago

Comments

When I feel stress I usually want to eat sweet foods. It helps to lessen my sadness.

$ 0.00
11 months ago