What is decentralization ?

2 43
Avatar for clixmoney
1 year ago

Yeah, yeah, I know that I'm on blockchain for more than 5 years, and still ask such questions, but really, when I see everyone talking about it, I would like to understand the real meaning of that !

Let's suppose I just joined the blockchain, I'm new here, and not even a native English speaker who doesn't understand the meaning of all English words. And I'm already not a native speaker, and I learned about this word only after joining steem.

So, the first thing I would do as a non-native speaker, is going to google and find the meaning of the word. So, it's saying :

the transfer of control of an activity or organization to several local offices or authorities rather than one single one.

I guess they meant the lack of control at all, or it should include control anyway ? They confuse me as well. I thought decentralization is when people can decide what they want, but not a few telling them what to do.

When I was new to all this, I just thought that decentralization is not letting the government involve in everything. Then I thought that decentralization not letting others tell you what to do. Maybe I was wrong, or still wrong really I don't understand.

I'm inspired to write about this after reading the post of @fervi here : Should we get rid of .....

Here is a part of the comment I left there :

I see votes based on stake not Decentralization for me. Maybe I'm wrong ? Money talks is Decentralization ? Interesting. Maybe I need to learn more.

Also, I would like to share this post : The new mayor is as bad as the old mayor. It's kind of actual by the way. Where I commented with the following :

That's why I don't like anything to be based completely on vote. It's like giving credit to the most, while others also have to have a place to be. Let's imagine 51% voted for ''punishing'' someone and 49% said no. Should the person be ''punished'' only based on that ? I think no. There should be evidences, and many other things considered. Maybe it's a hard topic to talk about, but really basing our lives only on votes could be a slippery slope.

Maybe I'm mistaken, I really don't know, those are just my crazy ideas. lol


Anyone can answer me :

What is decentralization ?

2
$ 1.34
$ 1.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @anli
$ 0.02 from @Oneray
Sponsors of clixmoney
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for clixmoney
1 year ago

Comments

In my opinion, what is happening is a centralized decentralization on many occasions. The decision may not fall on one party but on a group, but if that group of people forms alliances to carry out a plan that benefits one party and not the majority... How could we say that it is decentralized?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me decentralization is a synonym for Democracy. Did you know there is plenty of different kinds of Democracy? Representative and Majority Rule are not the only ones. There's an interesting list in Wikipedia that shows this (see photo). After all everything goes back to relationships. Just as we are conceived, born and developed in relationship.

cross-comment with photo at https://noise.cash/post/59z8g3xs0kp3

$ 0.00
1 year ago