Fields of Barley

6 17
Avatar for clandestine
3 years ago

I wrote this prose two years ago. I don't have some courage to post and share this before because it was my first time to write a prose and I hope that you will like it.

The first few weeks on the college life were full of surprises. We're not sure what to expect. Everyone seems so sure. While we were the exact opposite.

I remembered the early days. Me and the guys were blasting away any obstacle they threw at us, with an angel swooping by once in a while, slipping on ubiquitous ice slides most of the time.

Those truly were the best of times, the moment how badly the freshmen wanted to impress the professors. And I remembered that they never hit their mark easily.

It was as if we were sent into battle as children. We're united in a safe haven, with one common purpose. We made it happen. Except it's suddenly not so safe. We only just come into being, but it may all be gone by this time tomorrow. Unless we make our first big decisions, everything could come undone.

Of all those sacrifices, are they worth it?

It was a hard road that brought us here. Maybe too hard. But a straight and featureless road never possess beauty, nor presented a worthwhile challenge.

Thank you for reading!!!

9
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! @ibrahim1000

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As a moderator of the community tales/stories I want to let you know this is not what is considered to be a tale. Please, read the rules and some entries approved to understand what the community is looking for.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just removed it from the community. I apologized

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm happy read.cash fed you some courage to share this. I know you have better ones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago