Greece - Food & Drinks - Sweets: Rizogalo.

6 8
Avatar for chryptof
3 years ago

Rizogalo is a sweet Greek dessert/dish that is created from milk, porridge rice and starch (brought on taste with cinnamon and vanilla). It is mainly served with a glass of water (because it is really sweet).

According to a good friend of mine (Bertha), its is the healthiest sweet that exists in Greece. She is convinced that this is the secret why she will celebrate, tomorrow (7th Of June), her 92th birthday.

Congratulations, Bertha! I hope you may enjoy Rizogalo for many more years!!!

If you have the chance to visit Athens, make sure you visit 'Stani'.
It is a unique, traditional coffee shop (sweet shop/milk bar) downtown Athens. I am convinced that everything you taste here is EXCELLENT! If not let me know, I will pay the bill ;-) (just kidding). The place is located here: M. Kotopouli 10, Athens 10431 Greece.

Ingredients:

  • - 200 gr. porridge rice.
    - 200gr. sugar.
    - 400 ml of water.
    - 1L of milk.
    - 2 tablespoons of starch.
    - 2 egg yolks.
    - seeds of a vanilla stick.
    - 1 tablespoon of cinnamon. (I prefer Ceylon cinnamon as it just tastes better).

Preparation:

  • - (1) Boil 400 ml of water.
    - (2) Add the porridge rice and the milk to the boiling water.
    - (3) Stir this until the rice gets soft.
    - (4) Add the starch and the sugar.
    - (5) Add the egg yolks and the seeds of the vanilla stick.
    - (6) Whisk until the mixture becomes creamy.
    - (7) Pour the hot mixture in the serving cups.
    - (8) Let the serving cups cool down. (preferable NOT in the refrigerator).

  • Finally:
    - On serving, sprinkle some cinnamon on top of the portions.

Enjoy!

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for chryptof
3 years ago

Comments

I was in Greece 4 years ago. I visited Athens and Santorini Island. Loved the country but didn't get a chance to try any of the greek dishes (wife is a picky eater 😂) expect for one shrimp based which I really loved. These posts makes me visit again 😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! You are welcome, even this year! You know as Greece mainly depends on tourism, we are waiting here, with fear, to see what this summer will bring.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah the fear is the same all around the world. We are all into this together and we will come out strong

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here the fear for the virus is very low as we had almost no cases and as low as about 180 deaths throughout the entire period. No, the fear here is that many people will skip this year to go for holidays. So that means 'no income' for a very big group of Greeks that totally depend on tourism. (not even thinking of the people that work 'in black' in this sector, as they will also get no government support).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well that is a good thing and you guys are already way ahead in terms of recovery. I understand your worries as many other countries are still struggling to flatten the curve

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For many people in the islands this year is a 'dilemma': have no income or (potentially) import the virus. Most islands have, so far, no cases at all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will love to try this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't try, just do it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will love to try this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What would you love to try? To get 92? I wish you... I love you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As i asee ithink its very delicious and yummy food you make, i like to cook that kind of food to serve my family soon i will make that hopefully its eassay to make.....

$ 0.00
User's avatar Fe
3 years ago

Where are you from? I looked at your BLOG but unfortunately I don't understand the language :-(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it is not easy with my recipe, just invite me, I will prepare it for you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes im here comes from the Philippines, and how about you freind?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Fe
3 years ago

Greece of course. I am not sure but if you would write your articles in English, you would have, in my opinion, a much broader public (of readers). Just a suggestion. Take care.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

苦痛了吧?客廳和小旅行計畫中所規限定義為何不能用這個樣子嗎?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

苦痛了吧?客廳和小旅行計畫中所規限定義為何不能用這個樣子嗎?

I definitely have to learn Chinese.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Rizogalo is very enjoyable for greec people. I am very happy to know this food recipe. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very healthy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This post is about raziogalo. This food is very sweet to eat. Carry on your post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sweet it is, very sweet. Assure you always accompany it with a glass of water.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Raziogalo is a desert item. I like desert. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Remember dessert is written with double -s. Written with only 1 -s, it means a remote place like Sahara for example. Just saying.

$ 0.00
3 years ago