The Sudden Sickness

2 46
Avatar for cherrynwine
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Pandemic

I want to share with you guys the sickness of my father since June 2021. He was here in our house for a 2 weeks vacation. He went home pretty fine without feeling any pain or illness. However, on day 3 of his stay here, he suddenly felt pain in his left foot. We thought that he took a misstep when we jogged that morning. But, the next day it suddenly swells, and then his right foot can also feel pain. One week had passed his feet were all swelled up to the point he cannot walk. So, they brought him to an orthopedic surgeon. They did some lab consultation and tests but the doctor said his overall body chart is normal. The doctor then prescribed him some medicine and limited him to eat nuts, oily foods, and entrails/innards (mga lamang loob).

However, in two weeks, the legs of my father were also swelling up. My grandmother and aunties said that maybe he cannot be healed by doctors. That we must try bringing him to some folk healer (albularyo). Therefore, we tried it. At first, my father did not believe in it because he said they were quack doctors. Nonetheless, he did not have a choice since my mother already contacted one. She also said to my father that there was nothing to lose if we tried. In two months, we had two faith healers and two doctors to cure my father. The doctors said he had rheumatoid arthritis then he prescribed him medicines that cost around 150-500 pesos per tablet.
The albularyos said that he was being envied by an old man. So, they both performed their rituals and burned incense.

The condition of my father become better, there was no swelling but he was still weak. He can walk slowly but still need assistance. It continues until one month without improvement. So my mother was bothered again with it plus my father said that his left hand felt numb. We had another check-up with his doctor when the laboratory results were out he said that his last illness which was tuberculosis was again activated. Luckily, it is not severe, there are small spots in his lungs that can be cured by medicine. Therefore, another set of prescriptions was made and it was so costly. After one week of taking medicine, my father felt soreness again in his legs. We thought at first that it was just a side effect of the pills. So my mother stopped my father because it making his condition worse. However, my father insisted because he was too close to completing the two weeks medication his doctor prescribed.

Four months have passed when this sickness resurfaced. Then, last week of this month, my mother brought a faith healer which was recommended by my Lola Jenny and Lola Marites. Monday was the first day when they checked my father's situation. They asked my father some questions and performed "tawas" to him. The faith healer (manggagamot/albularyo) saw a bald man and a little girl with his ritual. He asked my mother if there was near santol tree in our house. He also said that my father was being played. To be honest, it was so creepy and the atmosphere was kinda grim. After that, he interviewed my parents and told them what to do such as food to eat, taking a bath with some leaves, putting his feet up for about 1 hour, jumping every morning, burned incense every 5 pm, and many more. He also said that the only thing that can heal my father is no other than himself.

Thursday came and it was the day of offering. The faith healer came again to our house then we enacted some prayer or ritual. He then put marks on our forehead and said some words I cannot comprehend. They also killed one chicken and collected its blood. He showered coins, candies, salt, and holy water (i do not know if it is really holy water) all over our house. And lastly, he burned incense in every corner of our home.

Currently, my father looks better than before. We do really hope that he will be back to being strong and healthy. He can now walk outside to get sunlight and take a bath on his own. We truly struggle to that four months especially since my father is our only source of income. In addition, I appreciate my mother more because of her patience and dedication in taking care of my hard-headed father. Hahaha. I am also so grateful to all my relatives for helping us to fight this unknown sickness. The only this that leaves us now is to pray and trust Him.

Here are some documentations:

Author's Message:

Hello, everyone! Sorry for not writing this past few days because I was so busy with school activities and the birthday of my cousin. Anyway, I would like to thank @FarmGirl for renewing her sponsorship. You are one of the main reasons why I continue writing here in read.cash. Thank you for supporting me from the very beginning. Moreover, to all my readers, commenters,s and upvoters, I will never stop saying how grateful I am to all of you. Let's continue to support each other and may all of us be blessed!

3
$ 2.06
$ 2.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kushina
$ 0.02 from @Arkifreak
Sponsors of cherrynwine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cherrynwine
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Pandemic

Comments

How nice that your father's health is better and hopefully he will be fully recovered. How nice that you celebrated your cousin's birthday, it is often the case that you don't write because you are busy with other personal things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I do also hope that he can recover fully. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago