Being A Student in the Midst of Pandemic

5 33
Avatar for cherrynwine
2 years ago

A country must be free. A world must revolve. However, our world seems to stop working. Our country appears to be in a cell, trap with our freedom. It all happened in just a blink of an eye. That is how fast, strong, and harmful our enemy is. An enemy that can't be seen by our naked eye and an enemy without a doubt that can end a million of lives. This enemy is known as COVID-19, a virus that spread like a wildfire in every corner of the world and brings distress to every human being.

As a student, experiencing this phenomenon gives me and my fellow students unstable mental health. We are pressured and scared of what this virus may bring. It looks like our future depends on the result of how we will cease this pandemic. But, until now it is uncertain if we can entirely put an end to it. The vaccines are ready and it has been distributed but the damage and trauma of it can't be regained easily. The recovery will take a long time that might cause to us students to be stuck. I know that some may say that we have much bigger problems than us overthinking about our future and lives can be. Still, we are just humans and it is part of being a human.

As we are now in our second virtual academic school year the things that I noticed is that the students and professors are still adjusting to this not so new normal. I have classmates who didn't enroll this semester since the setup we have is not favorable to him. He lives in a place where the signal is not stable and the pandemic also affected the work of his father. So, he thought that instead of adding to the burden he decided to help his family first. When we heard this we tried to convince him that we will help him just like before. Last year, as a Communication Officers of our Department I had the duty to inform all the students when there were school announcements and if there were students who needed assistance. Since one of the students was my classmate, when we had a new assignment or activities I send him a message to inform him then he will go to their town to get some signal. We did also offer him load assistance so he can keep up with our lessons. However, if I ever put myself in his position, I will also be torn between putting my attention to our home or in school.

Therefore, we ended up letting him have a break from school. He just promised us that he will be back when things become better. I was so saddened by this because he was such a model student and a dorm-school kind of guy when we were 1st year college. The turnout of events made me so eager to help others and to take my studies seriously. Moreover, I see now my life differently than it used to be.

There are days when we see this pandemic as an opportunity to learn some new things and discover our hidden personalities. Because of the concern we have for not being sure of our future leads us to be somewhat productive and to enjoy the little things. We spend more time with our family, talk to each other often that we barely do. Appreciating the things that we only have because some people don't have the same status as other does. Lastly, this whole pandemic teaches us, students, on how to help each other in our own trivial ways.

I strongly believe that with a powerful prayer and unity. We can terminate our enemy and in time, we can freely roam outside and work as we used to. Our world and country can function again as long as we are one.

Thank you for reaching the end of my blog. May you all have more BCH to come!

4
$ 0.86
$ 0.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.01 from @clixmoney
Sponsors of cherrynwine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cherrynwine
2 years ago

Comments

You shouldn't be scary of a virus. You should be scary of what governments are doing to their people. If you are able to study online, just study like that. Don't sell your freedom and health just to study. You may even not work with the diploma you got. Most of the people don't use it. Just think about it. I hope everything will be ok with you and with all students in the world !

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree, the government is the scariest. Thank you for reminding me about taking my study lightly. It made me let go of some burdens. I do also hope that all students are okay. So let's just pray for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These challenging times indeed teach us many things and keep us within the bounds of our own homes hoping for better days to come. You've done amazing help to your classmate. Kudos to you :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you po! I do hope too for better days to come. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's hope and pray for that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago